Best electricity theft case -.

(Querist) 16 June 2014 This query is : Resolved 
Dear Gentlemen,

I am a Doctor Ph.D. in Network Engineering and owner of M/s. AFTECH (www.aftech.in). I am also a Vice President of Maharashtra Vikas Parishad and a Social Worker too.

On 17.01.2013 I was out of station (in Ratnagiri 450 Km away from my House) when the BEST Vigilance Team of 12 Agents raided my house at 1215 hrs with subjected matter forcing my wife who was alone in the house to sign the papers else she will be taken into Police Custody.

"How could they enter a lady's house without a prior permission from Police Dept. and without a lady police."

The told my wife to sign papers and demanded Rs. 1.75 lacs in cash. My wife told them that I am in Ratnagiri and she does not have any cash apart from household expense. They told her to get the same from relatives. When refused they filed an FIR in my name.

My wife got panic and called me, I was surprised to hear the electricity Theft and I told the BEST people that I am a professional person and will not do such thing, this must be a handy work of my enemies who are trying to defame me while I am away, I Pleaded them not to take any action as my wife is not having any money to give them and I am on my way to Mumbai. I told them I will come to your Office and solve the matter.

They kept on demanding money till 5 PM in the evening and when they fail to get the same, they filed FIR under section 135 and 152 of Indian Electricity Act 2003 and cut off my electricity taking away my Energy Meter.

More to that, on my arrival at 2030 hrs, the police arrested me and kept me whole night under custody. I was in Police Station for the whole night without food and shivering in the Cold Days of Winter.

The police treated me like a criminal for the whole night and next day afternoon at 1500 hrs. took me to hospital for a medical check up where the doctor didn't even ask my name nor she examined me and a fitness report was given although I am suffering from Colitis and Piles for the past 7 years. They took me to remand court instead of Session Court and the remand court judge told the police that she has no power to judge this case as it lies under session court.

I have to hire a lawyer costing 15000/- just to bail out myself.

THE BEST IS CHARGING ME RS. 1,32,557 AND A COMPUNDING OF RS. 14,000/-

PLEASE TELL ME:

1. HOW CAN THE POLICE ARREST ME FOR THE CRIME I HAVE NOT DONE.

2. HOW MUCH THEY CAN CHARGE ME (MY MONTHLY AVERAGE BILL FOR THE PAST ONE YEAR IS RS. 375/- AS I AM USING SOLAR ENERGY)

3. HOW THEY CAN CUT MY ELECTRICITY WITHOUT GIVING ME ANY CHANCE TO LOOK INTO THE MATTER.

4. HOW DO I FIGHT BACK TO REGAIN MY HONOUR WHCIH WAS CRIPPLED AT THE TIME OF ARREST.

Hope to hear a strong reply from all the learned people guiding

Thanks and regards,

Dr. Asgar Fansofkar.

Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 17 June 2014
You are not giving any details to indicate whether any crime is done or not.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 17 June 2014
Repeated query:

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Best-electricity-theft-case-472091.asp#.U6ANqChKqRQ

and also at:

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Best-electricity-theft-case-472101.asp#.U6AOCihKqRQ
ajay sethi (Expert) 17 June 2014
repeated query

it is not such a simple case.

The fine is not charged on the electricity one consumes and pays . It is charged on the electricity suspected to be consumed and not paid.

It is a normal practice national wide that electricity deptt given opportunity to spot payment of dues and without this opportunity they neither disconnect meter nor do they file FIR. when fine is not paid they have no option but to do so. nothing new in your case.

In power theft case the electricity deptt can also confiscate the electrical gadget which they avoid doing so as it increases their labour and responsibility.

Living in Mumbai you got bail without depositing single penny of demanded amount. In Delhi none gives bail unless 50% of the demanded dues are deposited.

if you bill is so low then how do you manage household. There is something wrong in meter. Action of BEST does not appear to be fully wrong at least as per given facts.

You are not disclosing contents of FIR in any of your thread on the subject.

if you feel doctor failed to proper medical examination you can give complaint to health deptt and also to medical council and open another front.
ASGAR FANSOFKAR (Querist) 17 June 2014

I have been bailed out with Rs. 30,000/- and paid the next day 50,000/- to BEST for getting the connection back. I have given clear picture that FIR was lodged under section 135 and 152 of Electricity Act 2003.

Please answer my questions
what is alleged against you

Your own lawyer is privy to the facts of the case what does he say.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 17 June 2014
If you have already deposited the computed amount, no case is made out against you.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 18 June 2014
Repeated query
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 19 June 2014
another thread

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/BEST-electricity-theft-case-478356.asp
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate Online (Expert) 19 June 2014
You have been targeted by the people in power against whom you have raised slogans, thus it is you who have to decide about the ways to come out of the trouble/trap that has been laid for you. With a very good experience in social activities, you think about the strategies to solve this issue too because legally they may trouble you more and more on many more issues, think and decide wisely.
ASGAR FANSOFKAR (Querist) 20 June 2014
Thanks Mr. Kalaiselvan.

Appreciate your advise.

Dr. Asgar
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 21 June 2014
As this post is repeated one, no further reply should be given.