Queries Participated

priyanka pai   06 September 2018 at 10:29

Pg diploma course in business law

There is post - graduate diploma course in business and corporate law through distance education learning conducted by Symboisis Centre for Distance Learning. I sincerely request the experts to please give their opinions on the scope of the course in the law career. Or in the alternative can you please suggest any other colleges for distance learning of post graduation course in corporate laws ?

Priyanka Pai

priyanka pai   14 February 2017 at 17:33

Vigilantibus et non dormientibus jura subveniunt

Sirs,

The offence of fraudulent dealings in shares was committed in the year 2004. However, SEBI filed criminal case against offenders in the year 2016.

Now, does the above maxim applies to criminal case filed by a governing body like Securities and Exchange Board of India ?

priyanka pai   14 February 2017 at 16:59

Double jeopardy

Sirs,

SEBI issued Show Cause Notice in year 2006 for the fraudulent dealing in shares by the offenders. Hearing took place before Adjudicating Officer(AO) and Whole time member (WTM) of SEBI who imposed penalty and order passed directing to pay disgorgement amount respectively.

Appeals were filed before the Securities Appellate Tribunal which upheld the above Orders of AO and WTM and directed to comply with the above orders of SEBI in 2008. Appeals were preferred against said orders of SAT before the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India which directed the offenders to comply with the Orders of SAT in 2013. The Offenders duly complied with the said order of Hon'ble SC of India.

However, now the SEBI has filed criminal complaint against the said Offenders for the same offence of fraudulent dealings in shares committed by them.

My query is does this situation amount to double jeopardy on the offenders as they have already faced litigation and also paid the penalty by duly complying with the order of the Hon'ble SC?

Please guide me on this.

priyanka pai   18 January 2017 at 23:08

Admissibility in evidence

There is a out of court Deed of Settlement entered in to between the Complainant and Accused during the pendency of proceedings filed in the criminal complaint u/s. 138 of Negotiable Instruments Act.The said Deed of Settlement is duly signed and notarised.

The trial has started. Complainant has filed its Evidence and Cross-examination of Complainant Witness has already been completed prior to the execution of above mentioned Deed of Settlement. However, the settlement has failed.

Complainant desires to lead further evidence by bringing second witness. So, in this case,can the above mentioned Deed of Settlement be filed in the list of documents alongwith the said Affidavit of Evidence of second witness?

priyanka pai   24 October 2012 at 11:38

Regarding exam centre for aibe exam

I am from Mumbai,the exam centre code for Mumbai is 30.By mistake, I had written exam centre code as 15 in AIBE(All India Bar Council Exam) exam form which I came to know next day after submitting the form.What should I do to correct the mistake? Should I again fill up the form or else if they will allow me to get the form & correct my mistake ?
Thanks in advance.

priyanka pai   31 July 2012 at 13:46

Law practice

When can an Advocate who is a member of Bar Council of Maharashtra And Goa practice in the Supreme Court of India? What is the procedure?

priyanka pai   31 July 2012 at 13:40

List of courts in mumbai

Is there any website to find the various courts in Mumbai? If yes then let me know...

priyanka pai   28 July 2012 at 13:38

Divorce by mutual consent

The case is that the couple want to obtain divorce by mutual consent.The couple are Jehuva by religion (methodical Christian).The jurisdiction of their case falls in Thane Family Court. So I wanted to know the procedure to obtain divorce by mutual consent in Thane Family Court in Maharashtra. Pls. reply soon.
Thank you.

priyanka pai   10 June 2012 at 17:05

Internship

I would like to know what qualities are needed to become a good intern in a law firm or at the chambers of a counsel?

Anonymous   25 January 2012 at 16:08

Solicitor's exam

Can anybody guide me for the solicitor's exam ? I have following doubts?
1) In the interview for articled clerkship what type of questions can be asked?
2) How to prepare for the exam?