Refund of token amount

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 05 May 2010 This query is : Resolved 
We had intended to sell our flat in Malad Mumbai through a broker.
The broker informed us of an interested buyer who spoke with us telephonically and agreed to pay a token amount of Rs 1 lakh which he deposited through cheque into our bank account.
He had initially lied to us saying he had a loan approved however despite sending repeated emails to the broker, we did not receive any sanction letter.Hence we informed buyer we do not wish to proceed with the sale of our flat and that we will refund his token amount to him.
We never signed any agreement, nor gave any receipt to this buyer.In fact we dont have any address or contact details even of this buyer.But now he is refusing to take his token money back and is asking for 4 lakhs in return or he is threatening to send us a legal notice.
How do we return his money to him and avoid any legal hassles as we simply do not want to enter into a transaction with this kind of person who lied to us and is now threatening us.
We have sent a photocopy of our sale deed to our broker , and the buyer states that the broker has entered into an MOU with him though we have never authorised the broker to act on our behalf nor given him anything in writing.
Are we legally liable for anything?What would be the best course of actiom.
Your advise would be very much appreciated .please help at the earliest.
A V Vishal (Expert) 05 May 2010
You need not worry and you can proceed to sell the property to some other purchaser.
bhagwat patil (Expert) 06 May 2010
as there no written agreement to sale u dont have to worry about so called transaction.for further details u may contact 9422773303
Ashok Yadav (Expert) 06 May 2010
You have not entered into any agreement with the purchaser or with the broker, and the broker is doing all on his own will. So you need not to worry, the siad purchaser can take only one lac token money amount from you, no one can take advantage of his own wrongs. You can use your property as your own wish.
Uma parameswaran (Expert) 06 May 2010
If the money is deposited in your account take steps to given back the money as DD with out delay through police officers or elders to aviod further problems in future.