How to get marriage certificate from bmc offices in mumbai

(Querist) 30 September 2013 This query is : Resolved 

I am presently staying in Mumbai together with my wife & 2 children. I got married in 1999 in Andhra Pradesh.

Now I am need of getting my marriage certificate.

My wife is having passport which shows her new surname. ie surname is correctly mentioned as per after marriage.For getting her passport, we submitted Annexure/D to passport office.

I am staying in Dadar,Mumbai. Kindly guide me how to get my marriage certificate from BMC office.

Thanks in advance.

regards.

Thota
M V Gupta (Expert) 01 October 2013
you will have to apply to the Registrar of marriages at the place where the marriage took place.
Thota (Querist) 01 October 2013
Dear Gupta Sir,

It means that I will not get marriage certificate in Mumbai(staying here with my family)because my marriage was held in Hyderabad.

If so, whether I will get the marriage certificate from Hyderabad only not from Mumbai?

Kindly suggest.

regards,
Thota
Kishor Mehta (Expert) 02 October 2013

As Shri Gupta has stated, you will have to apply to the Registrar of marriages at the place where the marriage took place.

Further you will get the marriage certificate only if you have registered your marriage after getting married.

Good Luck
Kishor Mehta
M V Gupta (Expert) 02 October 2013
Dear Mr. Thota, Yes. You cannot get the certificate from the Registrar of Marriages at Mumbai as he does not have jurisdiction in ur case. It is a requirement of the application for the certificate that u should enclose a certificate from the priest who had performed the marriage ceremony etc.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 06 October 2013
The marriage registration certificate can be received from the office of Registrar of Marriage in whose jurisdiction the marriage took place.
Certain forms and formalities need to be completed as per procedure, it would be issued on payment of required fees.