Can i sue sister in law

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 19 December 2011 This query is : Resolved 
can i sue my sister in law ? if she abuse or telling bad words againts me in society.
ajay sethi (Expert) 19 December 2011
try to find out the reason why is she abusing you . inolve the family elders in trying to bring reapproachment .

filing case is not the solution .

Advocate. Arunagiri (Expert) 19 December 2011
You can sue any body in the world, the only thing needed is proof.
Deepak Nair (Expert) 19 December 2011
You can file a complaint for defamation.
but ensure that you have sufficient evidence or witnesses
V R SHROFF (Expert) 19 December 2011
Why Not??
If anybody does it, you have full right.
Anyone trying to break peace, insult or abuse you in public or Society, you can certainly sue her, file Police complaint. Is it due to instigation of your wife? or u mean brother's wife??
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 19 December 2011
The right to sue does not depend upon the nearness of relationship.
The acts done by the lady amounts to criminal defamation which entitles you to initiate proceeding u/s 500 of IPC.
So rest is upto you now.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 20 December 2011
simply because she is tellingbad words you cannot sue. You have to prove that her allegations are false as well. Then you can due both civil and criminal but you cannot allege someone to harma reputation which you may not have. You must have to rpove her alleations as false intended to diminish your social image before those persons who hear the allegations and also prove that the developed low impression about yu on so hearing.
prabhakar singh (Expert) 20 December 2011
arebaba uska tau rista hi tumko galidene ka hai!
Baharhall vahi karen jo accha lage.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 20 December 2011
One is free to initiate action against the person abusing him falsely but in the given matter, you are advised to amicably settle the matter within the boundaries of your family because if you start litigation, you shall have to bear abuses in multiplication not only from your sister in law but also from your employer, lawyer, neighbours, relatives and so on.
Shailesh Kr. Shah (Expert) 20 December 2011
yes valid ground to sue after cause.
Guest (Expert) 20 December 2011
You can definitely sue her. But don't forget, nobody dares to abuse or insult any one unless there is a cause behind that.
Shonee Kapoor (Expert) 20 December 2011
YES

Deepak Nair (Expert) 22 December 2011
The experts have righly advised you. Now it is up to you to take any action as you think fit.