Service in Law firm or working under Lawyer what will be better?

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 02 January 2011 This query is : Resolved 
Request the learned Experts to kindly guide me.
I worked as a Regional Manager of a very reputed PSU being posted all over India. In one such posting out of my home town I had passed LLB exam in the year 1994. I have just retired at the age of 58 years & wanted to practice Law. My qualification is B.Sc., MBA & LLB. I had contacted many Lawyers few of whom agreed to accept me to work with them as junior. Because of my long experience & MBA degree I am not bad in drafting legal papers which I did as part of my job while working. Suddenly I got an offer & joined a (very ill managed for proprietors own personal problem for which they lost lot of business & are now trying to revive) Solicitor Firm as Associate General Manager at a monthly remuneration of Rs.15K. I am not after money. I want to learn & start practicing as early as possible. Job wise I am very busy now. I am drafting plaints for money suits, legal searches, sale Deeds etc all by myself. The clients are ringing me often requesting to finidh their jobs early (mainly real estate firms). I am selecting advocates for filing suits for our clients. The owner assured me that I can plead for the firm/clients as soon as I get my registration which is expected any day. My question is
(1) What will be beneficial for me. Joining a practicing lawyer as his unpaid or ill paid junior or my present job?
(2) My designation has been given as Associate general Manager. Shall I be able to practice even being employed with the solicitor Firm? There is no appointment letter. Salary paid is in cash without any receipt taken from me.
(3) Any other view/observation the experts may have.
Kindly guide me sirs
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 02 January 2011
It is the desire of an individual from where to start his career. If you are not in need of any fixed income per month then it is better to join legal practice in courts otherwise you can again go to service field.
s.subramanian (Expert) 02 January 2011
I fully endorse the view of Mr.Makkad.
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 02 January 2011
But sirs, can I appear/plead in Courts if I am employed in a Solicitor Firm who has told me to that once I get my registration. I heard that he who is in service can not appear/plead in Courts. Some one also told that this rule is not applicable for Solicitor Firms. Kindly clear my doubt sirs.
Veeresh Naik (Expert) 02 January 2011
At the outset I will welcome u in this noble profession. I feel better when I read that u r satisfied with what u have and not interested in running behind money. u r elder to me therefore i can not learn u lessons. But I will suggest u to start independent practice because that's real spirit. Forget ur job with that solicitor firm where there is no evidence of employment. BEST LUCK
Veeresh Naik (Expert) 02 January 2011
At the outset I will welcome u in this noble profession. I feel better when I read that u r satisfied with what u have and not interested in running behind money. u r elder to me therefore i can not teach u lessons. But I will suggest u to start independent practice because that's real spirit. Forget ur job with that solicitor firm where there is no evidence of employment. BEST LUCK
Advocate Bhartesh goyal (Expert) 03 January 2011
I also agree with S.Subramanian.
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 03 January 2011
Dear Anonymous,
You say that you are not at present hard pressed for money and for your sustenance you have enough savings earned through your earlier employment in the PSU. In such a case, I would suggest you to start your own practice after getting enrolment with the Bar Council. Focus on your area of specialisation. Yes, it will take some time say 6 to 1 year to get good briefs and chances to appear before the Courts etc. If you are lucky to get such chances earlier then there is nothing like it. 15K per month is nothing. I predict it would not be too longer before you start employing people to work for you probably paying more than 15K.
ALL THE BESTS.