Claim settlement of deceased father

(Querist) 19 November 2016 This query is : Resolved 
My dad came to Kolkata few years back and opened an account in SBI bank in which I was registered as a nominee.. now after his death I had to come from Chennai for claim settlement of his account. After 20days of struggle now again BM gave a new set of forms & asking for surety of two people having atleast 4lakhs in their account.. being new to this place I hardly know anyone who would agree for the same kindly guide me.. and I also want to know the rights of a nominee..
According to rbi.org.in..(In such case, therefore, while making payment to the survivor(s) / nominee of the deceased depositor, the banks are advised to desist from insisting on production of succession certificate, letter of administration or probate, etc., or obtain any bond of indemnity or surety from the survivor(s)/nominee, irrespective of the amount standing to the credit of the deceased account holder.) But I had to submit all these.. kindly guide me as to what shd I do..
Kumar Doab (Expert) 19 November 2016
You have got the right citation.

It is RBI master Circular on Customer Services; 19& 20

RBI is Central bank its guidelines have statutory force.

SBI has to maintain the guidelines and its internal guidelines on its web site and provide a free copy to customer/claimant.

Have you submitted all papers under proper acknowledgment?

Which documents are submitted by you?

Has the BM asked you to produce sureties in writing?

Kumar Doab (Expert) 19 November 2016
Repeated query.

Pls don't repeat.
Lakshmi (Querist) 20 November 2016
death certificate, passbooks, letter of indemnity, affidavit, my adhar card , pan card and deceased identity proof and the forms dat were given by them to be filled but now he again gave few forms and has asked to submit letter of disclaimer and letter of sureity
Kumar Doab (Expert) 20 November 2016
RBI has asked the banks to set threshold limit for deceased depositor a/c without nomination......................not for deceased depositor a/c with nomination.

Letter of Disclaimer: Valid nomination exists as per your post. bank can discharge its responsibility by making the payment to nominee.

Surety: Valid nomination exists as per your post. bank can discharge its responsibility by making the payment to nominee.

Ask the BM to respond in writing.

Or meet AGM.

Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 20 November 2016
You can give the surety of person from your place, the branch Manager near you would verify the forms and may forward in sealed envelop.

These days all branches are CBS enabled, Br. Manager of any Branch can confirm the address, deposit and signatures of account holder given by you as surety from your place in the system.

You can forward your claim papers from the Branch nearest you / dak.

In case of need, do not hesitate to take up with concerned Regional Manager, General Manager, Chief General Manager and chairman.
However, it is strange, Bank is asking surety from you when you are registered as nominee in the account.

You have to submit your application, identity proof, your account details (if you have), death certificate of the account holder for settlement of claim.

You need not to travel time and again, send it through dak, once claim is processed request Bank to send proceeds through DD at your address. Interest is payable for intervening period.

Do not hesitate to lodge complaint if the Branch asks unwanted formalities.
You can ask Bank the reason of asking surety , if Bank does not reply use RTI.
If BM has asked for surety then BM is under obligation to reply on what strength he/she has asked for it.

Guest (Expert) 20 November 2016
Dear Ms Lakshmi,

In my view, you may take recourse to RTI to ask for the relevant instructions of RBI's on the issue of payment of balances of the deceased accounts to nominees.

If I am not wrong, Index to RBI Circulars reveal that "Circular No 19 & 20" as referred to by Shri Kumar Doab, were issued by the "Foreign Exchange Department" of the RBI and relate to subject matter of "Know Your Customer (KYC) norms/ Anti-Money Laundering (AML) standards/ Combating the Financing of Terrorism (CFT)/ Obligation of Authorised Persons under Prevention of Money Laundering Act, (PMLA), 2002, as amended by Prevention of Money Laundering (Amendment) Act, 2009- Cross Border Inward Remittance under Money Transfer Service Scheme."
In the very first post it has been posted, FOR THE AUTHOR;Ms Lakshmi:

"You have got the right citation.

It is RBI master Circular on Customer Services; 19& 20"

The author and expert Mr. Rajendra K Goyal who has experience with banks has not pointed any thing related to foreign exchange.

The query is not on foreign exchange.

The person above can render his opinion on foreign exchange or any other subject under his magnifying glasses in some other forum.
The said expert, referring the circulars, seems to be lacking in self confidence when instead of justifying his statement, prefers to take shelter of some other expert, if he has not pointed out any mistake in his post.

The author will be justified, if she asks Mr. Doab to intimate the dates of issue of the circulars also. Mere mention of "It is RBI master Circular on Customer Services; 19& 20" without dates and year of the circulars has no relevance.
Dear author Ms Lakshmi,

I appreciate that you have already done your homework may be thru this forum or other or thru your own counsel.

The right circular and right clause have been cited in my very first post.

Your query has already been resolved by me and Mr. Goyal.

This aged person @.P.S.Dhingra::: has as per his own admission in threads::: his 'Die Hard habits'.

He is sole and alone person that is being avoided like a bad news.

He is once again here to litter his trademark nuisance and abuse and this time his crutches are weird thought of 'Foreign Exchange'...................

Your query has been resolved.

You can laugh out in this thread and at at your home.

We are laughing and and avoiding him.

You may access his profile and go thru threads under Forum, Experts and may note that he has been abusing querist and as not spared anyone including but not limited to fellow experts..........................

There is a Search option in middle of right hand side of this web page 'Search Q & A'.

We have resolved unlimited number of queries on 'Deceased Depositor accounts' and all of these can be of use to you and you can pick up relevant points.

I have posted extensively on such matters and have attached rules/ciculras

Pls share your picks with everyone around you and help your fellow citizens.

You may post further without any hitch in this thread and by PM.

If you wish to know about Free Legal Aid write back and we will try even for that.

Mr. Doab,

You are once again welcome with expression of your irritation and frustration.

About your misleading statement, "This aged person @.P.S.Dhingra::: has as per his own admission in threads::: his 'Die Hard habits" that was not my admission rather confirmation about your habit of making plenty of posts against single threads, as questioned by Shri RJS Rajkumar. Why don't you refer that thread to the author to justify your statement, so that she may also see for whom that observation was meant for?

Dear author Ms Lakshmi,

It is a always a pleasure to note the authors and querists that endevour to be well informed.

You shall be welcome again.

There is NO One by the name of Mr. RJS Rajkumar that we know at LCI.

In other thread one expert Mr. NJS Rajkumar that we know has duly objected and pointed to abuse of author/querist like you, this aged aged person @.P.S.Dhingra.

While other expert did posted SORRY this aged aged person @.P.S.Dhingra although abused the author, did not post any regret/apology/sorry and rather has been stalking even fellow experts...................and have been using one or the other dirty tactics to malign and abuse.

In the same thread this aged aged person @.P.S.Dhingra, lied, and his lies were highlighted by Mr. NJS Rajkumar also.

He as usual did post any regret or remorse.

His urge,itch and ache for abuse is insatiable.

This is despite the fact that we have stood firmly by him while he needed us and posted respectfully for him.

He is thankless and reckless.

His rowdiness and abuse crossed all limits of tolerance.

Your query has been resolved by me and Mr. Goyal and both of us are also not spared by him.

While you go thru the threads in forum and experts and articles section you will gain access to everything.

Thank you very much Mr.kumar doab for your valuable inputs on my query and have an additional doubt like when my claim is processed what are the mode in which I can request the payment of settlement . I was told by the BM dat I would get a bankers cheque for which I need to be present physically at this branch to receive which means I'll have to stay here for more 15-20 days or will have to come all the way back from Chennai when cheque is ready.. both the options are actually quiet difficult for me.. so kindly suggest me if there is any other option to rcv the amount
Guest (Expert) 21 November 2016
Mr. Kumar Doab,

You are welcome again on your expression of frustration, irritation and false statement.

About your statement, "There is NO One by the name of Mr. RJS Rajkumar that we know at LCI," but you have admitted that there is one expert named "NJS Rjakumar" with your own statement, "In other thread one expert Mr. NJS Rajkuamr that we know."

May be misspelling of the initials, but position would not change. Even in your post you have mis-spelt the real name Rajkumar. What do you want to say about that?

Of course your habit of making false statements would definitely die hard, when you state, "Mr. NJS Rajkuamr that we know has duly objected and pointed to abuse of author/querist like you, this aged aged person @.P.S.Dhingra." YOU FORGET THAT HE OBJECTED ONLY ON YOUR HABIT OF MAKING SEVERAL POSTS ON SINGLE THREAD OF ANY QUERIST, not on any of my post.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 21 November 2016
Dear Author,

You can request the Branch manager to forward the Banker's cheque by post at your address. Bank may recover postal / courier charges.

With the application submit blank receipt (with revenue stamp) of amount received which may be completed by the Bank after application of upto date interest. No risk in giving such receipt in advance if the name of deceased and his account no. is mentioned. Also request formally to forward cheque at your address.

Do not agree to visit time and again for receiving the claim.

Call also send e-mail to Regional Manager / controller / Chief General Manager in case of need.
Ms. Lakshmi,

I fully agree with the latest advice of Shri Rajendra K Goyal.
Expert P. S. DHINGRA,

Thanks for agreeing with me.
You are welcome Rajendra ji.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 21 November 2016
Mr. P.S.Dhingra,

You have decided to lie at your very old age, it is your habit by your own choice.

You are fully aware that you have been abusing and that you lied to mislead and your lies have been pointed to you time and again.

Many posts in a thread is not abuse.

Dear author Ms Lakshmi,

You are welcome.

LCI Expert Mr. Mallipedi Jaggarao has also been with banks.

We will continue to mention names.

It is just and proper.

The bank and BM can not violate RBI guidelines that have statutory force.

BM can not transgress.

Record the statements of BM and build e evidence.

The AGM is likely to provide you the relief.

Banks do compile such cases and place before say AGM in bunch.

You have an issue.

Ask them in writing under proper acknowledgment to supply the cheque by Redg. post.

I am sending you the full contact details of concerned official in RBI central office at Mumbai.

You can get in touch.

In similar case the after the matter was posted to RBI: the BM and his deputy were asking the borrowers of the bank, if some one knows and claimant and wanted to serve the claimant sincerely.

You are at liberty to claim the expenses from the bank if precious time and funds have been lost and you have been harassed.

Obtain acknowledgment with seal,date,on copy of each document.

Probably the tantrums of the bank BM are to coerce for illegal gratification.

Corruption in banks has been a known fact.

I am also sending you link of some threads for your own assessment and observations.
Post your representations bank and BM may agree to handover the cheque NOW since all papers have already been submitted by you and/or at branch in your city.

Ask BM to supply the compensation policy of the bank and offer you compensation in writing and if not sufficient handover the matter to your own counsel.
LCI expert Mr. Devajyoti Barman from KOlkota.
You can seek his counsel.

Agree in case of need can refer expert Devajyoti Barman at Kolkata.

It would be better to exhaust all internal complaint resolution mechanism of SBI.

I hope, your problem would be solved within Bank itself.
You have posted that:

"After 20days of struggle now again BM gave a new set of forms & asking for surety of two people having atleast 4lakhs in their account'

20 days harassment is unpardonable.

Regret this matter needs to be sent to governor RBI and to counsel of author and court of law.

I am once again sending you full contact details of other senior officials at RBI.

You are at liberty to draw their attention to this thread and my posts.

Lakshmi (Querist) 21 November 2016
Thanks Mr Kumar doab and Mr.rajendra k goyal for your time in replying me.. your inputs really boosted my confidence and I had mailed my complains to gm.customer@sbi.co.in, twitter@sbi.co.in and CMS.pgs@sbi.co.in and today when I went to bank was confident enough to argue with him regarding the above mentioned demands of his and finally he has accepted my claim documents and also as suggested by Mr.goyal have signed the blank receipt and given a formal request to send the bankers cheque to my address which he finally accepted.. hope my matter gets solved now and I receive the payment soon... Thanks again..
I shall update u all when I receive the amount
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 22 November 2016
Very happy to know. Please inform when the cheque is received. In case of any hurdle, do not hesitate to send e-mail to chariman of the Bank, CGM of the circle (Bengal Circle) including above.

My experience is that the State Bank is particular and firm on dealing such complaints.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 22 November 2016
Happy to know that your documents have been accepted.

Hope you have obtained acknowledgment on all papers.

20 days harassment is unpardonable.

Upon receiving the cheque and after encashing it, send the communique to BM to refund your 20days expenses at your current location.

The BM is under obligation to supply right claim documents on 1st day.

The Bank management and regulator are also under obligation to eradicate and remove such nuisance and person littering it and harassment from banks, even if it is a BM.

Banks are getting sensitive because their committee's are under obligation to review the service levels,compliance and redressal of complaints so that same does not happen again..........................because banks have to pay huge penalties in various forums.

A determined citizen and customer can bring such good for nothing individuals on their knees.

One such example shall reform many others in branch and bank.

You may post again and we shall support you.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 22 November 2016
One more aspect if the claim amount is more than the discretionary powers of the concerned Branch Manager, it has to be sanctioned by the officer in whose powers the claim falls, may take some time.
Kumar Doab (Expert) 22 November 2016
The BM is under obligation to supply right claim documents on 1st day, when the nominee approaches the bank.

Bank is under obligation to clarify the time to be taken for delivering service by it.

Now you can relate why BM took 20 days and why BM demanded Surety etc while it is not required.

The interventions by bank personnel to whom you have escalated is primarily to deliver the service to you................and BM may escape by some reprimand in office..........without any admission of lapse and apology to you.

And without any compensation to you.

Obtain your claim money and take BM to task fro 20 days harassment.

In another thread;the bank employee was awarded with 'Removal From Service' fro opening fake bank a/c................and another matter complainant awarded compensation of Rs.5Lacs for harassment by BM.

Such abuser of rights are not fit to be left to loose around in a civilized society.

The Bank management and regulator are also under obligation to eradicate and remove such nuisance and person littering it and harassment from banks, even if it is a BM.

Lakshmi (Querist) 23 November 2016
Yea we shd take some serious steps against such irresponsible staffs so that others don't suffer.. the abm of the same branch is one step ahead of BM.. i was initially sent to him by BM ..I have a video recording of abm who directly n rudely denied to even take my papers stating to be very busy with other work due to demonitisation whereas he hardly had crowd in his counter.. when I told him dat he can't deny as I got confirmation from sbi Twitter handle that I can avail other services from branches.. he said he doesn't care and told me to leave and come at night.. on asking until what time will he be working so dat I'll visit again later then he said need not come at all.. he would call me when he is free... Just imagine how rude and moreover how wd he call me when I hvn't gvn ny contact number to him...

That person is really enjoying his job without actually working.. I really want that guy to face sone punishment.. he was the same with others also
Lakshmi (Querist) 23 November 2016
Yea we shd take some serious steps against such irresponsible staffs so that others don't suffer.. the abm of the same branch is one step ahead of BM.. i was initially sent to him by BM ..I have a video recording of abm who directly n rudely denied to even take my papers stating to be very busy with other work due to demonitisation whereas he hardly had crowd in his counter.. when I told him dat he can't deny as I got confirmation from sbi Twitter handle that I can avail other services from branches.. he said he doesn't care and told me to leave and come at night.. on asking until what time will he be working so dat I'll visit again later then he said need not come at all.. he would call me when he is free... Just imagine how rude and moreover how wd he call me when I hvn't gvn ny contact number to him...

That person is really enjoying his job without actually working.. I really want that guy to face sone punishment.. he was the same with others also
Kumar Doab (Expert) 23 November 2016
If your resolve is strong both will face consequences.

The nominee has traveled from Chennai to Kolkota.

The video/audio recording may be shown to your own counsel.

The Bank can not deny to provide CCTV footage ( with audio if mikes are also installed) and have to produce on order of state/court of law.

Recently we have obtained it from a big MNC thru court of law. The game that they played was with many software's and ultimately the private Lab has resolved and the BILL shall have to be paid by bank.

The court of law has power to send CD for forensic examination.

I have already provided you the links'.

Dear LCI author Ms Lakshmi,

You can check the abuse, blankness of even basic knowledge , provocations, instigation that are trademark of this
person @.P.S.Dhingra at many threads e.g;

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Problem-with-real-estate-builder-622761.asp

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Transmission-of-shares-without-probate-of-will--601546.asp

You may visit my profile and his also.

After stalking in your thread and many other threads, this
person @.P.S.Dhingra is still stalking in other threads e.g;

http://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/Hindu-sucession-act-2005-for-equal-share-to-daughters-married-in-the-year-1948-623686.asp

I did not get prompt for your last message.
May be due to some technical glitch.

Next time you may remind by PM.Pls mention weblink of the threads in PM.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 23 November 2016
Have you received the permission from competent authority to record video inside the Bank Branch?

It would be better to write to Chairman / chief General Manager regarding your complaint and difficulty faced.
Your resolve is appreciable.

I have provided you with full contact details of RBI.

In the mentioned case of MNC bank we had categorically asked the good for nothing/rude/rowdy Bank personnel that like the bank is recording us on its tapes we will record the bank and its personnel and their final response was ;we can.

WE did.

The bank and its personnel have promptly submitted their tapes to court of law and have NO objection to tapes with us.

Banks and its personnel are neither guarding borders of the nation nor maps of the border of the 'Republic of India'.

Any Evidence even if acquired, by illegal means remains an evidence.

Your own counsel at your location can appraise you in details.

Guest (Expert) 23 November 2016
Ms. lakshmi,

You can very well notice, how Mr Doab is openly prompting you to do illegal activities by his statement, "Any Evidence even if acquired, by illegal means remains an evidence."

Please note, offence if committed by you on the advice of Mr. Kumar Doab, only you will be made responsible for that, not Mr. Doab.

Please be alert from such type of fake experts.

By the way, has Mr. Kumar Doab intimated you the dates of Circulars No. 19 & 20, as he advised you, "It is RBI master Circular on Customer Services; 19& 20" and I stated, what those circulars were about, as per the website of RBI?

Guest (Expert) 23 November 2016
Mr. Kumar Doab,

You are still failing to confirm the dates of RBI Circulars No. 19 & 20 for the purpose of verification of your false advice to the author.

Your evasive pretensions cannot hide your ignorance and habit of wrong advice to the querists.

So, not allowing me to verify your statement about RBI circulars No. 19 & 20, reveals your own sheer lie and wrong guidance to the author to prove that your allegation "You have decided to lie at your very old age, it is your habit by your own choice," IS QUITE FALSE AS YOUR FALSE ADVICE TO VARIOUS QUERISTS.