Congress does not rule out action against Tharoor New Delhi

Guest (Querist) 19 September 2009 This query is : Resolved 
September 19,2009

Congress does not rule out action against Tharoor New Delhi

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh last night described Shashi Tharoor's comments on economy class travel as a"joke" even as the Congress indicated action against the Minister.

Asked about the controversy surrounding the"cattle class" remarks of the Minister of State for External Affairs regarding the economy class travel by ministers in furtherance of government's austerity measures, Singh told reporters,"it was a joke". As the storm over his remarks gathered momentum, the Congress party appeared to be unimpressed by Tharoor's apology as it did not rule out action against him and virtually approved Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot's statement seeking his resignation.

" Congress party condemns what Tharoor had said.The party will take whatever action is appropriate and necessary at an appropriate time," Party spokesperson Manish Tewari told reporters here as the controversy surrounding his remarks snowballed further.

On Gehlot's demand for resignation of Tharoor, Tewari said,"It is natural Obviously when you have statements like this, there are bound to be reactions." Gehlot had said yesterday that it was unfortunate and unbecoming on Tharoor's part to make such"irresponsible" comments and he should tender his resignation.

-----------

Please comment
riven
vinjamuri ranga babu (Expert) 19 September 2009
hello.
it is unfortunate in India that certain people particularly Political side persons are treat them as they are "Monarchs" and they don't feel that, they have social responsibility and there is no particular law to that type statements made by any body who are in the Government, those persons are to be prosecuted for making those irresponsible coments which ultimately effects and hurts the certain category of people. We have a fundamental right to talk, but it has certain reservations. Unfortunately, Our Political persons seems to be not known their laws and reservations with regard to What to talk? and What not to talk?. I request the our HOn'ble PM through this request that certain guidelines and teach them lessons about our law of this country. Otherwise, we all will be face to lot of hardship. In the earlier occasion also Mr.Advani seems to be made a comment in Pakistan about JInnah. These are all not necessary and those comments would not solve our problems. So, at the out set i request all the respectable persons shall behave in a such manner that our country has to be proud, whether they are in the ruling side or opposition side. I have lot to say, but i myself cut down from this as my comments may be embarrassed to a11 concerned people.
vrriven
Guest (Querist) 19 September 2009
I appreciate your comment.We the citizens have every right to express our opinions within our constitution limits against Government and its servents.riven
Kiran Kumar (Expert) 19 September 2009
dear Sathya Parkash Ji, pls post such information either in news section or in forum.

please honour the purpose of expert section.

the option of comment is available in news section as well.

we appreciate ur concern and efforts but let the things be systematic :-)riven
Guest (Querist) 19 September 2009
Thank you. I am sorry for the mistake.riven