Deposit of excess money in bank savings account & bank simply denied their role.

(Querist) 07 March 2015 This query is : Resolved 
Sir/Madam,

I had a savings account in an RRB Bank. Some excess money was deposited in my account without my knowledge. The Bank authority did not informed me. When I came to know that,i rushed to bank & asked them why they didn't informed me before. they simply denied & told me that it is not the duty of bank to inform, as it is the duty of customer to inform bank about excess or less transaction.Now case has been lodged.kindly inform whether the bank are right!!! I am in need of a circular/ Notification issued by RBI where i can show that it is the duty of bank to inform. Kindly help me in this matter
Guest (Expert) 07 March 2015
Unless you opt for sms service of the bank, bank is not obliged to inform about any transaction. That can be noticed only on updation of the passbook.

About RBI circulars, you may access the RBI website to get detailed information about circulars.

It is not understood on what ground you have classified your query under criminal law!
SUBRATA CHAKRABORTY (Querist) 07 March 2015
Thank You Sir for your kind info. I want to know that whether is there any guidelines where it written that Bank will not inform customers about excess deposits in account & if such happens customers shd inform banks!!! The Banks has no Responsibility
You may check at the website of RBI, as already advised, or ask the bank in writing to solve your academic problem.
Thank You Dhingra Sir.The following matter is related to a criminal case filled & money is deposited in account by bank at that time, but in counter reply it is informed that the bank is not liable for depositing excess money where as the customer shd inform it.So i want to file affidavit with such circular where this matter can be taken up infront of Honble Court.
You are welcome.
Anirudh (Expert) 07 March 2015
It not clear from your post as to what do you mean as "excess money". Who deposited it?
When was it deposited?
When did you notice it?
Anirudh Sir, I noticed it few days later. I had noticed that some beneficiaries money of DBT is credited to my account. Then I went to bank & informed them & they told that they will look into it. Later On, a case was filled against me ,in counter reply they replied that it is not the bank responsibility to inform about any transaction done in bank, it is the duty of customers to inform bank about any issue. I raised question that i have not deposited this money to my account, bank authority deposited that, so now, why i will be liable for that. I need notification/circular where i can show that the bank also need to inform customers as they have deposited it.
DBT relating to what?
When you say that "some beneficiaries money of DBT is credited to my account", do you mean to say that more than one beneficiaries amount was credited to your bank account?
What is the quantum of money involved?
Did you withdraw that money from your bank account?
When you say that you informed the bank about the excess credit, did you do so in writing? If not, why not?
When was the case filed?
What is the charge against you?
how old is the matter?
Have you engaged any lawyer or not?
Sir, I have informed bank in writing.The Total Money is of 10,000. its almost 6 months old. The money is not withdrawn.It was there in account. I just want to know that, is there any rule that bank will not inform the customer ,if any issue customer will inform bank. Please guide in this issue only.It will be good for me if i get any circular like that it is the bank responsibility so that i can show it in Honorable court.
You did not indicate the nature of dbt.

whether more than one beneficiaries amount was credited into your bank?

You also did not indicate as to who filed the case and on what basis?

DBT is of scholarship amount. The Case was filled by a beneficiary.04 Nos of Beneficiaries were creditd to my account. Later On, The Bank decided to sent back the amount but i want to show the court that it was also the duty of bank to inform customers & not to wait & see when they will come to inform.That was my point Sir. Is there any such points .If so, plz guide.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 07 March 2015
For searching instructions visit RBI web site. Bank may provide information through SMS, entry in passbook, periodical account statement etc.

If the passbook was not completed on presentation, Bank may be at fault.

Immediately inform the Bank on acknowledgement about wrong entry in your account, with request to rectify it, if it came to your knowledge.
There is no such requirement that bank should intimate you about the credit. In any case, bank may not even come to know whether there is any 'excess credit' being made to you.

I have a serious doubt. I can understand one credit of the dbt can by mistake happen, how can it happen in case of 4 beneficiaries - especially when all the beneficiaries would be having separate Aadhar Card and separate bank accounts?

Strangely I find that at no point of time you have indicated that the bank has credited to your account 'wrongly'.

I take it that there is more facts, which you are not coming out with.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 11 March 2015
If it was not your fault then there should not be a criminal case against you. Better you challenge the case based on the merits in your side. For RBI circulars in this regard, please make your own effort by browsing in the internet.
SUBRATA CHAKRABORTY (Querist) 11 March 2015
Dear Anirudh Sir, I asked for a help or sugestions from all expert Learned Counsel.Many of them already helped me. Inspite of giving useful suggestions,u are making it critical.I do not need critical suggestion pls.
Thanks Mr. Rajendra K Goyal Sir
Thanks Mr.T. Kalaiselvan Sir.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 11 March 2015
you are welcome for your appreciations.