Is original LLB certificate mandatory in place of provisional certificate?

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 02 January 2011 This query is : Resolved 
Request the learned Experts to kindly guide me.
I worked as a Regional Manager of a very reputed PSU being posted all over India. I one such posting out of my home town I had passed LLB exam in the year 1994. I have just retired & wanted to practice Law. My qualification is B.Sc., MBA & LLB. I had applied for registration in Bar Council with my provisional LLB certificate ( as the original certificate was not issued when I was posted there & I do not know if that has at all been issued or not) . My Law college has already confirmed the authenticity of my provisional certificate to the Bar Council. But a few days back some body from bar Council rang & told me that the provisional certificate for LLB will not be accepted. Original certificate is required. He refused to disclose his name but told me to contact Bar Council. It is very difficult for me to go to the city of my earlier posting & ask for original certificate of LLB which I passed in 1994. It is very time consuming if at all possible. My question is
(1) Is it necessary or mandatory to submit original certificate in place of provisional certificate for LLB Examination? Or it is that some body is trying to get some money from me?
(2) If they still insist for original certificate verbally & refuse to give in writing, what should I do?
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 02 January 2011
You shall have to produce original certificate as provisional is for some time and it is the prerogative of bar Council to have such certificate irrespective of your personal pains to bring that certificate from the city you cleared your examination of LLB.
s.subramanian (Expert) 02 January 2011
You can approach the Bar Council directly and verify. If they insist on the original,you have no other option but to produce the same.
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 03 January 2011
The Original Degree Certificate will definitely be available with the College from which you passed the LL.B. You have to go personally and collect the same. Yes, it may involve some time, but you have no other choice, having left the matter unattended for so long.

The Bar Council will also be insisting on 'Attendance Certificate" and also 'No objection Certificate' granted by your employer for pursuing the course. If they had not asked then that is a different matter. You also have to give an Affidavit explaining the 'gap in time' between the year of passing and the time of seeking enrolment.