Notice without prejudice

(Querist) 24 June 2014 This query is : Resolved 
Hello Every one,
I need to ask you experts that some 06 months back a vehicle owned by me had an accident with a tourist. My driver was driving the vehicle at that time. i took the tourist to the nearby hospital and treated him ( Fractured Arm ) for two days. After 02 days he left for his native saying that he will continue his treatment in his native place. in the mean time he lodged an F.I.R. with the local police. Driver was arrested and later released on bail. Now the same tourist is threatening me and asking a ransom of 08 Lacks through his lawyer. His lawyer even send me a ( Without Prejudice Notice ) asking for the money. I am in a fix what to do.
Kindly Suggest.
The Police is yet to complete Charge sheet.
My Vehicle is already insured ( Third party as well as self )
Thank You
ajay sethi (Expert) 24 June 2014
refuse to pay Rs 8 lakhs . he only fractured his arm . demand is exhorbitant
Sankaranarayanan (Expert) 24 June 2014
Yes I do endorse expert Sethi ji. You reply with the help of a lawyer to refuse the demand
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 24 June 2014
Let the claim, if any, be decided by the courts and the insurance company be made a party for the claim.
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 25 June 2014
Let the case begin. Criminal case is very hard to prove.
R.K Nanda (Expert) 25 June 2014
no more to add.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 27 June 2014
He has got a right to claim compensation, since you have a valid insurance, the insurance company will take care of the claim case.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 28 June 2014
In criminal case (FIR) it is to be contested by your driver, being accused of the accident. In other case (Motor Accident Claim), the insurance company will contest and pay.
Donot sccumb to the pressure of victim/ injured.