Loan taken by brother

(Querist) 29 December 2013 This query is : Resolved 
Respective Sir/Ma'am.

My brother has taken loan of Rs. 1 Lac from local patpedhi. now due amount is 1.68 lacs with interest. That patpedhi issued notice to us at village address which is permanent address of us.

Before 4 years, he has taken loan from 4-5 patpedhi that time we repaid loan. after that We removed his name from ration card . b'cas of his this type of activity.

now pls advice how i face this situation. As i am not in a condition to repay loan every time which taken by my brother.

Which action will be taken by patpedhi in this case.
pls reply urgently
ajay sethi (Expert) 29 December 2013
he will file suit to recover loan amount with interest against your brother
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 29 December 2013
Legally you are not bound to repay the loan of your brother.
If your brother is a habitual defaulter of loan then let him face the consequences so he may learn from his mistakes.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 29 December 2013
If any property is in the name of your brother that can be attached and loan can be recovered from that. You are not legally liable to pay the loan.
Sunil Salunkhe (Querist) 30 December 2013
Dear all
Thank u very much. There is no any property on his name
1) Recovery officer come & threaten to my parents that they will seal property which is on parents name
2) how I can intimate to all that we r not responsible for loan taken by him and also don't give any loan in future to him
Kindly reply
Dear all
1) Recovery officer come & threaten to my parents that they will seal property which is on parents name
2) how I can intimate to all that we r not responsible for loan taken by him and also don't give any loan in future to him
Kindly reply
Dear all
Kindly reply
Dear all
Kindly reply
Dear all
Kindly reply
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 30 December 2013
Any recovery officer can not threaten you or your parents till they are guarantors of the loan. Tell recovery officer in clear and plain language about their illegal threats. Presently inform the higher officer in writing about the threatening of the recovery officers. If no response, lodge police complaint.
ajay sethi (Expert) 30 December 2013
recovery officer cannot threaten your parents for recovery of loan taken by your brother . he cannot attach your parents property .
M V Gupta (Expert) 30 December 2013
Did u or ur parents give guarantee for the loan or mortgaged property to secure the loan? Is the property ancestral or self acquired property of ur parents? These are some of the details which u have to provide for a proper guidance from this forum.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 30 December 2013
Until your parents have stood as guarantor to the loans availed by your brother, there can be no reason to worry about the threat calls given by the recovery officer in this regard, but make sure that this has not happened.
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 31 December 2013
They are making empty threats as such threats have no legal basis.
You can lodge complaint with Police against such threats.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 31 December 2013
receive no notice in name of brother and let it be returned with remarks of postman "addressee unknown' as he is not residing with you since many years.
Sunil Salunkhe (Querist) 11 January 2014
Tnx to all of u to give me such valuable replies
Sunil Salunkhe (Querist) 22 March 2014
Can anyone share contact numbers to discuss on above matter?
Its urgent..... please