Fraudulant withdrawal of money using internet banking

(Querist) 09 October 2011 This query is : Resolved 
my wife withdrew money from my bank account Rs.11 lacs and transferred it to her own bank account somehow using my password. She has invested the money in a fixed deposit in her single name and with the periodic interest to be credited to her account. I as a retired senior banker know that this is a criminal offence (cyber crime) and I have proof that she has done this without my knowledge. How can I recover my money? My wife is obstinate and thinks nothing can be done by me. Will there be arrest or something?
We are married for the last 35 years with two well settled children.
Shonee Kapoor (Expert) 09 October 2011
File a complaint in Cyber Cell and also file a case for fraud.

regards,

Shailesh Kr. Shah (Expert) 10 October 2011
Before taking any action, you have to talk peacefully with her, she will return your money. After all you knew her last 35 years.
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 10 October 2011
Dear Mr. Balasubramanian,
Are both of you in talking terms or not?
Are both of you estranged?
Are you living together or separately?
Is there any matrimonial case going on between the two of you?
Otherwise, how do you explain this strange behaviour of your wife.
Yes, if she had used your password and got transferred money from your account, she is liable for action. But, you have to think coolly before proceeding any further like lodging complaint etc. At this age and experience, both of you need to sort out whatever differences that you have. One good thing is that she has not squandered the money but has made a FD.
Advocate. Arunagiri (Expert) 10 October 2011
You can give a police complaint. The police will collect evidence, through proper investigation. You can get back your money.

But, you have to explain, why you have not changed the password, even after the misunderstanding with your wife.

Arun Kumar Bhagat (Expert) 10 October 2011
If the transaction of Net-banking is done through using your computer, then it will be presumed that you made the transaction not your wife.
R.RAJENDRAN (Expert) 10 October 2011
You can approach the bank and inform them about what happened. It must be known whether your individual account has been clubbed with your wife individual account for the purpose of internet banking, as both of you might be having same residence proof.
In the bank level it self, you try to settle the matter. What is reason that your wife has transferred such a huge amount from your account to her account? Is it in the interest of family?
Any-how, what are you going to achieve at this age by implicating your wife in a cyber-crime case?
malipeddi jaggarao (Expert) 10 October 2011
You being a retired bank officer, how could allow your wife to know your pass word? How can you prove that she has used your pass word in your absence? You have two well settled children. At this stage if you lodge a complaint, as Mr.Rajendran commented, what will you achieve? Since money is still with her, ask your children to counsel their mother and settle the issue within the family.
Guest (Expert) 10 October 2011
I endorse the views of Mr. Jaggarao. The only thing what can happen with your complaint about report of cyber crime, would be the arrest of your wife. The other effect of the case will be the creation of tension within the members of well settled family till the case remains alive, as harassment of police to your wife can be intriguing for other family members also. Per chance your complaint is considered false on being not perfectly proved, you would also get some dose of harrassment of police.

So, better act upon the advice of Mr. Jaggarao.
ajay sethi (Expert) 10 October 2011
why did you share your password with your wife?

banks take lot of preacuations before permitting any customer to use internet banking .

besides password other additional safegaurds are placed by bank.

if you have given your wife password you are to be blamed .

filing complaint with police seems to be your only option but it will ruin your rlations after 35 years of marriage .
J K Agrawal (Expert) 10 October 2011
Dear Sir
I can feel your problem. AT the age of 65 and above almost each and every feel this problem.( I am not talking about your case. I am talking about your problem) At this age every near and dear want one thing from you that is a signature. it may be on a cheque or on a deed or on a will. If you do not sign, think about the problems you may face or the facilities which will be no more available to you.

Your problem is not a legal problem.
(Legal problem may be problem for you. It is a job for us.) Your problem relates to social engineering.

Think about those days when you were young enough and was enjoying (and making money only) living apart from family and only with your family which is no more your family.

(I do not know meaning of word family)

The same thing is going on. YOUR Both children are well settled with a family. I think once they were in your family or you were in their family but where did you lost it? I am surprised to know that they are settled. How it is possible when you are unsettle?

You are worried about only 11 lakh rupees (or say 11 crore) and not looking that you have lost an entire life.
When you find a good lawyer, please tell me, I will require him only after a few years.
prabhakar singh (Expert) 10 October 2011
YOU SAY YOU"know that this is a criminal offence (cyber crime)"

YOU SAY YOU ".. have proof that she has done this without my knowledge."

AND YOUR WIFE IS OBSTINATE BUT SO ARE LEARNED BROTHERS TOO BARRING Mr.Shonee Kapoor and Mr.Arunagiri .

All rest of brothers at bar talking to digest it as it is an evil of of your beloved wife whom with you have been from inception of the tie till date.

It is your case only you can decide what to do,I know your mind finds not ready to digest it and that is why you have looked towards us and have asked us to suggest you "How can I recover my money?"

Many among us view it that you give up it.I think had you view it so you might have not approached for any legal advise.people may criticize you if you move ahead and I may also be criticized if I advise you not to give up.

There is an advise that if this transaction
is from your computer then presumption would be raised that it is a transaction of yours.

But every mind has to react within own built up and it so that every indian man is pro women so is law also because every one is desires to treat them 'ABALA' SO LONG IT IS OTHERS PROBLEM BARRING MY ONE BROTHER , while WOMEN HAVE TO A CONSIDERABLE EXTENT ACHIEVED EQUALITY AND A CONSIDERABLE PERCENTILE HAVE EVEN GONE AHEAD OF MEN.

I WANT TO SAY MY BROTHERS WHAT IS NOT THERE IN LIFE THAT SPOUSES DO NOT SHARE IN THERE LIFE WITH EACH OTHER TILL THERE UNION IS AS SMOOTH AS HAS BEEN YOURS.I MAY, FOR SAYING SO, BE ACCUSED AS AN ANTAGONIST BUT I AM READY TO OWN SUCH ADJECTIVES HAPPILY BECAUSE MY MIND IS TOO MUCH AGITATED ON THIS HAPPENING.IT IS NOT THE YOUNG HOOD THAT A MAN NEEDS A LADY FRIEND BUT IT IS THE OLD HOOD THAT A MAN REALLY NEEDS A WOMEN COMPANION WHO SHARE HIS EVERY PAIN AND SORROW, REPOSES CONFIDENCE TO BUILT UP A SERIOUS TRUST.SLIPS IF ANY HAS ALREADY GONE ON EITHER PART ONLY NEAT FRIENDSHIP REQUIRED.

IT IS HERE SHE HAS PLAYED,EVEN IF YOU FEEL HEART, I AM NOT HESITANT TO EXPRESS SO,NOT EVEN IF OTHERS FEEL THAT I AM PROVOKING A NON ISSUE TO CREATE AN ISSUE.

I HAVE SO FAR NOT BEEN ACROSS WHAT NAME THIS KIND OF ACT SHOULD BE NAMED AS NO VICTIM OTHER THAN YOU EVER APPROACH ME WITH A COMPLAINT OF SUCH A MISSHAPEN AS HAS BEEN ENCOUNTERED BY YOU.

I NAME IT AS "FRAUD BY ABUSE OF RELATIONSHIP".

I VIEW IT AS A CRIME AS WELL AS TORT AND I VIEW IT AS ACTIONABLE IN CRIMINAL LAW AS WELL AS IN CIVIL LAW,AND BOTH ARE AVAILABLE.

SUCH A BETRAYAL AT THIS JUNCTURE BY ONE SPOUSE AGAINST THE OTHER IS NOT A GOOD SIGN
TO TOLERATE UNLESS YOU PERSONALLY JUDGE IT SIMPLY A MISCHIEF OF HER AS AFTER ALL YOU ARE THE BEST JUDGE OF WHAT SKIN YOUR SPOUSE IS MADE OF.

OUR EXPERT MAY KINDLY DRAW ATTENTION TO THE POINT THAT THEY DAILY UTTER "then lady it is your absolute property as your husband has gifted it to you before divorce proceedings.
I HAVE FOUND THAT WOMEN AND NOT MEN EXPLOIT WOMEN AND OPPOSITE IS PROVED BY LEGISLATION AND JUDGES THAT NOT WOMEN BUT MEN EXPLOIT MEN.

A RIGHT IS RIGHT WHO BREACHED AND ENCROACHED SHOULD NOT BE CONCERN OF LAWYERS.

AS I BELIEVE AND SOME ONE RIGHTLY CALLED THEM "WATCH DOG OF SOCIETY" IT IS NOT A MATTER OF QUANTUM WHICH MAY DIFFER FROM PERSON TO PERSON DEPENDING ON FINANCIAL STATUS OF INDIVIDUALS.

THIS OF COURSE IS A MATTER OF BETRAYAL FROM THAT SIDE OF A LIFE WHICH IF ENCOURAGED AND TOLERATED ,VERY HEINOUSNESS WOULD GET ABETTED BY US WHICH MAY FETCH FAR REACHING ADVERSE EFFECTS IN THE SOCIETY, IS MY CONCERN WHICH MY BROTHERS HAVE FAILED TO CONSIDER.

I BEG PARDON OF THOSE WHO DO NOT AGREE WITH ME AND EVERY ONE IS FREE TO OPINE AND THINK HIS OWN WAY BUT NO PERSONAL COMMENT AS A FEW ARE ADVANCING NOW DAYS HERE AT THIS PLATE FORM.

prabhakar singh (Expert) 10 October 2011
TO THOSE WHO ARE ACTING IN DISGUISED I WISH TO STATE ENCOURAGEMENT STRENGTHEN ME BUT DISCOURAGEMENT OVER STRENGTHENS ME.
Guest (Expert) 12 October 2011
Prabhakar ji,

Thanks for your compliments for giving your fellow brothers a certificate of being obstinate and comparing all of us, except two, with the obstinate wife of Shri Balasubramanian, as per your remarks, as follows, that too in prominent capital letters:
"YOUR WIFE IS OBSTINATE BUT SO ARE LEARNED BROTHERS TOO BARRING Mr.Shonee Kapoor and Mr.Arunagiri"

But rest assured, that certificate of honour granted to us by you may not be of any help to solve the problem faced by the querist.

However, for your kind information, none of us have shown any obstinacy and compelled Mr. Balasubramanian to act upon our advice.

Not speaking about others, at least I donot have any objection if the querist acts upon your advice and gets benefited to any extent by retalliating on the action of his wife and drag her to the police custody and to the court of law in this old age after 35 years of their close association.
Arun Kumar Bhagat (Expert) 12 October 2011
After going through the reply of Prabhakar Singhji it appears that the vitriolic comes from the heart of a "Muktabhogi Insaan". A lot to learn from his self earned experience.Saayad gahare chot khaye hain. Mr.Dhingra you are also an experienced senior citizen, what is your "Vichar" ?
Advocate. Arunagiri (Expert) 12 October 2011
Mr.Arun,

I dont understand fully you, I think you are mixing some hindi words..
Guest (Expert) 14 October 2011
Bhagat ji,

Mujhe bhi aisa hi lagta hai, Prabhakar ji bhi Bhuktabhogi ho saktey hain aur yindagi mein apnon se hee gehri chott khaye huen lagtay hain. Nahin to voh kaise hamsey ummeed kartey ki hum unkay vicharon ko unke kuchch likney se pahle he telepathy se boojh kar unka samarthan kar daitey. Hamse lagta hai bahut badi bhool ho gayee hai jo humne unke vichar likhney se pahle hi unki vichardhara ko telepathy se jaananey ki koshish nahin ki.

Sorry Prabhakar ji, had you warned us beforehand not to express our views before you express your views at least I would not have dared to write my views that could have proved conflicting to your views and compelled you to declare us obstinate. So, would you kindly like to make us aware of what are your instructions for us for the future to abide by on our part?