Tax on Amarnath Yatra by J & K Govt.

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 17 June 2010 This query is : Resolved 
JK Govt. has put tax on each Hindu Yatri & Food Stalls while Central Govt. gives Rs.826 Crores for Haj. Why this difference in approach to the relgious pilgrimes, in the same country ?
AMIT BAJAJ ADVOCATE (Expert) 17 June 2010
Its a matter of state policy. But personaly i feel such tax should not be imposed on the pilgrims, the pilgrims will help increase revenue of the state anyways, but increasing revenue by imposing such tax is not a good idea.

I dont understand what can be the purpose of such tax. It seems to me as violative of fundamental right of freedom of religion. Such tax reminds of Jizya tax which was imposed by Aurengzeb on Non Muslims.

Taxes are imposed for the welfare of Public at large. But taxes should not be confiscatory in nature so as to become violative of the purpose for which it is imposed.

The govt may take plea that its imposed for the welfare of the pilgrims and to provide some facilities to them or for maintenence of the pilgrimages. There are lakhs, crores of Pilgrims who visit Haj every year but i havent heard any tax being imposed on haj yatris.

The state of J&K has imposed Rs 2000 on every vehicle carrying pilgrims for 3 days for yatra to vaishno devi and for 7 days on Amarnath Yatra. I think its too much and would discourage the poor people from visiting the pilgrimages.

Such tax should be opposed and be removed
Vineet (Expert) 18 June 2010
Irony and political compulsions of a secular state.

I do agree with Mr Bajaj. Any kind of tax or subsidy in practice of religion should be opposed.