Succession certificate
Vishal Thakur
(Querist) 05 July 2013
My father expired last month, My mother, unmarried sister and I are the only legal hiers.
My father had trading shares worth more than 1 lakh, we are asked to get succession certificate.
My question is that My father also had 4 wheeler and 2 wheeler, Do we need to get 2 succession certificates or will only one can solve the purpose ?
I am very new to these legal processes. Please guide.
Thanks in advance.
ajay sethi
(Expert) 05 July 2013
one succession certificate will do mention all assets
R.K Nanda
(Expert) 05 July 2013
1 SC IS ENOUGH.
Vishal Thakur
(Querist) 05 July 2013
Thanks Mr. Sethi and Mr. Nanda..It will really help me.
One more I would like to ask.
Before my father expired, we were staying in place A but later we shifted to place B.
Both place A and place B are in same state but in different district.
So do I need to apply for SC in the court at place A or place B ? or anywhere in India I can apply irrespective of location where we use to stay ?
ajay sethi
(Expert) 05 July 2013
you can apply in place B wherein you are staying
ajay sethi
(Expert) 05 July 2013
thanks for your appreciation
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 05 July 2013
I add something. You need not to get succession certificate for the change/transfer of ownership in respect to the vehicles and simple affidavits of other legal heirs in favour of you shall suffice.
Rajendra K Goyal
(Expert) 05 July 2013
Before proceeding for the succession certificate for the trading shares confirm whether nomination existed or not in the account.
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 05 July 2013
The suggestion of Rajender G is very practical. If there is no nomination then there is no need to get succession certificate and incur a heavy amount thereon rather the shares shall be transferred by the respective company in the name of nominee.
Vishal Thakur
(Querist) 08 July 2013
Thanks Mr. Makkad and Mr. Rajendra.
Yes I checked with the bank, there is no nominee, so I need to get succession certificate.
Is there any alternative, since there are only 3 legal hiers, My mother, My unmarried sister and me. My sister and myself have no objection if all shares are transfered to my mother's account. An affidavit and indemnity bond from me and my sister can solve the purpose ?
Nadeem Qureshi
(Expert) 08 July 2013
yes it can be, you can execute a relinquishment deed in your favour