Use of stamp paper

(Querist) 08 December 2011 This query is : Resolved 
Dear all,

Kindly let me know, Can Company use the Stamp paper which has been brought by the individual on his own name , who is not employee of the Company??

Thanks & Regards,

Gargi
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 08 December 2011
Before one could answer your query, please indicate why the Company wants to use a Stamp paper purchased by somebody else? What is the need?
VENKATESH HEGDE (Expert) 08 December 2011
Now a days stamp papers are issued through e-stamping.For that u should fill up the applicant name & address & purpose. & it should be used for thatname & purpose only.
If a company can not make an agreement in others name stamp paper . company should purchase the stamp paper in company s name only.
ajay sethi (Expert) 08 December 2011
no company cananot use the said stamp paper bought by an individual .
Shonee Kapoor (Expert) 08 December 2011

NO.

Advocate Bhartesh goyal (Expert) 08 December 2011
No company can not use the stamp papers purchased on others name.
Shailesh Kr. Shah (Expert) 08 December 2011
Strictly "No".
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 09 December 2011
Such stamp paper cannot be used by any other person than recorded at the back of such stamp paper.
dev kapoor (Expert) 09 December 2011
Hi all,
Good Morning !
...................But where is bar ?Kindly refer to the provision under the Stamps Act or Rules,if any.
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 09 December 2011
The most funny part is Gargi Ranade has not bothered to keep us informed about the need for doing so.
Gargi Ranade (Querist) 09 December 2011

First of all, thanks for your prompt reply. & sorry for the delayed reply, due to certain server problem I could not write reply yesterday.

We have asked for stamp paper to our legal advisor and he sends us as per our requirement but stamp paper was issued on his own name so I inquired to him is acceptable in the eyes of law? He told me that in case any issue arise you can say that we have arranged stamp paper through our legal advisor.

Being not satisfied with his answer I thought LCI Experts will able to guide me on this issue.

Thanks for your guidance, same was required for execution of certain mejor agreement. Hence I seek your guidence. Onwards I will be more carefull before ordering stamp paper.

Thanks a lot.
Shailesh Kr. Shah (Expert) 09 December 2011
Dear Mr.Gargi,

Ok !

But answer will remain same.
RAJU O.F., (Expert) 09 December 2011
The stamp paper can be used for any agreement/document to be executed by the purchaser of the stamp paper for any contracts with the company. As per Sec.29 of the Indian Stamp Act, the stamp paper must be in the name of the person drawing,making or executing such document.
vasant kulkarni (Expert) 09 December 2011
THE STAMP PAPER MUST BE IN THE NAME OF EITHER OF THE PARTIES TO THE EXECUTION OF THE DEED/CONTRACT.
V R SHROFF (Expert) 14 December 2011
THE STAMP PAPER MUST BE IN THE NAME OF EITHER OF THE PARTIES TO THE EXECUTION OF THE DEED/Contract. I Agree.

As far as Company is concerned, it should be on Company's name, purchased by Co. , and the amt spend should tally in their books of a/c.

Especially for immovable Property, it is strictly on Parties name. .
For other small purposes, Affidavits etc, their Lawyer can purchase, in his name, and is allowed to be used . .