Licenses for liquor business

(Querist) 06 October 2011 This query is : Resolved 
Dear Respected Colleaques,

One of my client wants to start Liquor Business for trading initially along with import & export business.

In reference I would like to know about the licenses that are required to be taken.

Thanks in advance,
Regards..

Parag
R.Ramachandran (Expert) 06 October 2011
This being a commercial query, you are advised to approach and consult a lawyer.
ajay sethi (Expert) 06 October 2011
we are not replying to commercial queries of companies .
Sadashiv Rupchand Gaikwad (Expert) 06 October 2011
For liquor Business first to obtained Shop Act Licence Certificate. It is generally for three/four years renewals. Fees per year 120 without labour, Employee upto 5 numbers Rs 360 per years.
Profession tax Rs 2500/ per year, to be paid in advance upto 30 th June if shop is in Maharashtra.
Shop Act from Labour Law, Profession Tax 11 digit RC number from Sales tax Department.
If Gross turnover is more than 5 Lacs, Sales tax number is needed.Compulsory Deposit 25000/- Process fees 5000/-
Also to be registered with Central Excise,
For Five Star Hotel Registration from Fire Bigrade Office, Tourism Office.

Sadashiv Rupchand Gaikwad (Expert) 06 October 2011
For Shop Act enclosed the following documents
prabhakar singh (Expert) 06 October 2011
dEAR Expert : Sadashiv Rupchand Gaikwad!

AS A MATTER OF POLICY WE ARE NOT EXTENDING ANY ADVISE TO QUERY CONNECTED WITH COMMERCIAL UTILITY THAT IS WHY Mr.RAMACHANDRAN AND Mr.SETHI DID NOT ANSWER.

I WISH YOU TO KINDLY MAINTAIN OUR INTERNAL DISCIPLINE THAT WAY WE SHALL BE ABLE TO SERVE OUR PURPOSE MORE EFFECTIVELY.

THIS SITE AND WE AT LCI ARE DEDICATED TO HELP AND GUIDE PEOPLE WHO ARE LAYMEN TO LAW AND CAN NOT AFFORD CONSULTATION. ULTIMATELY THEY TOO HAVE TO ENGAGE A LAWYER BUT WITH A BIT MORE TOOLS AND KNOW HOW.

I HOPE YOU WILL CARE MY REQUEST.
Shailesh Kr. Shah (Expert) 06 October 2011
No Comment!!! Purely Commercial query.

Parag (Querist) 06 October 2011
Dear Respected Members,

Thanks every one for the response. I had conflicting views regarding as to whether it would fall under commercial query. The main issue was the number of compliances /licenses required, cost & time line involve alongwith other routine operational issues, whether it would be worthwhile for the client to move ahead with the idea of wine / liquor trading.

Thanksag again.

Regards//

Parag
Arun Kumar Bhagat (Expert) 06 October 2011
First of all you have to obtain Excise Licence.
Arun Kumar Bhagat (Expert) 06 October 2011
First of all you have to obtain Excise Licence.