Fraud
saraswatik
(Querist) 06 September 2011
i came to across one profile on matrimonial site,actually i saw his profile in some around May 2010 ,but his photo was not uploaded , only there was emailid, so i mailed him to send it to me, then he sent and told me to come online to chat discuss ahead. But i neglected as i thought that he is not really interested , if he wants he will mail me again.Then he didnt reply and i too... then we forgot. After 1 year after, one day i was checking my mail on 26 june , he came online and said hi to me and ask my cell no., he remember also and he told me but i said that this is my old no and i gave new one. Then he sent me online message to chat with me, then we chatted and he asked me r u still unmarried and i said yes then we chatted. He told me that he liked my photo toomuch and wants to marry me , i said ok , we will meet and then decide, i ask him his cell no , he told me that i lost my cell no., my friend is going to come from us then i will give. I said ok ... After again on 05-07 -2011 he sent me message to come online. Again i chatted with him, he said that i want to marry at the earliest, i liked ur snap and i showed to my family and all then we decided to meet at mulund, but i said to him that i dont hv ur cell no. he said my friend hs not come , i dont hv no. and on 7th july he sent me message that he is not coming.. I said ok Again on 8th July he sent me heavy rain thats why not coming .. I said ok
Then on 8th he sent me message to comeonline. at 10.54p.m. but i did nt login Then on 9th also he sent me message in the afternoon and then in the night also, but i did not login.. On 10 th july also he sent me message and i login and chatted with him and he told to meet on Monday at Mulund 7.30p.m I went over there and i was waiting there till 8.45 p.m. and he did not came and not even message dropped.
After wards he emailed me he was in traffic.. He called me twice from land line no. and said that he dont hv cell no.. He used to send me message to come online,, sometime i login and chat withhim ,, but afterwards i thought this guy is cheating me , so i told him first u give ur cell no , i think 11 th August,, and he give a no. so i told him to call me , otherwise i will call u , but he told me dont call i am at my brothers house, i thought that this is fake no. , so I told him that i will sms you , and i send sms to him , and ask him how it was he said i did nt got, my message was showing waiting for delivery , so i thought that he will get later.
and on 2nd day also i send one sms on that no... On that day around 1.00p.m. i got call from that no. but our family was sleeping so i switched off the phone no. Then tomorrow on 13 th august i called on that no. and so One guy was talking with me said i am not that person,I am Manish,, its wrong no. After wards on the same day Manish called me in the afternoon , i asked him why u r calling he said that I want to listen your voice, I cut that phone no. Afterwards no phone came from that no... Now I was damn sure that he was cheater and he was cheating me since June 2011 and on 15 th aug he send me sms on my mobile to come online, but i did not login. On 21st August on Janmasthami i was checking my mail , he came online and started chatting with me , at that time i caught him and he gave same no to me and then he logged off and ran away. This guy really irritated me , I think he has cheated so many girls before by using matrimony website .So i complained all this to that site, then site deleted his profile , but they said that if u want to take legal action on him, u can take, so i want to know what action can be taken on him. I also requested site to give his cell no , but they said that they dont hv, if the matters goes to legal, then we can help you and give further information.
kindly guide me
ajay sethi
(Expert) 06 September 2011
lodge a complaint with cyber cell of police against that guy .

You can check address of the landline No. from online directory, if the phone was of the MTNL. You can also get the address from from the company about the phone No. from which you were receiving messages. Otherwise even on the basis of email ID, you can lodge a police compalaint, as the cyber crime branch of the police can get complete locational address of the user from the Internet Service Providers.
prabhakar singh
Try as advised ,i do not know what is there left awaiting you as relief even if you succeed in all this. Why do not you try to realize that things were signaling red since inception but you kept on going ???????????
Devajyoti Barman
Yes, anyway do not waste time anymore in lodging the complaint to the local cyber cell.
saraswatik
(Querist) 10 September 2011
Thanks to all of you for ur advice. But after lodging the complaint what action will police take on him ? If I want to take some legal action on him ? What should I do ? What will be the consequences of it and how much time it will required ? Which one is suitable ?
R.Ramachandran
(Expert) 10 September 2011
Really speaking you cannot take any action against him since you have not lost anything. Rather you got saved yourself by God's grace.
As far as his sending SMSs to you or chatting with you - they are not crime since you also part took in it. It is not the case where though you did not want to do anything with it, he was constantly harassing you by calling for chatting, or sending SMSs etc. etc. You had an interest he tried to take undue advantage of that. But before anything could wrong, you woke up. That is it. There is nothing more to it.
saraswatik
(Querist) 14 September 2011
As per ur reply, it is true that by god's grace i have not lost anything. It is also true that he was constantly sending sms for chatting. Actually earlier i was nt interested, but from chatting he created picture that he wants to really marry me and intrested in me as a wife..so i thought that he is seriously interested in marriage, so i thought tht one day he will meet me and then we will decide about it.So many times i told him that u hvnt seen me, u hv seen only snap, then why u r saying like this, but he told me that he is really interested. I think he must hv cheaten many girls before me by chatting and creating profile on matrimony site.I think he may have habit of chatting like this only. May be he had cheated more girls before. But this should stop somewhere. Innocent girls should be protected. So i want to know what should i do so that he will get good lesson. Is harrasment is crime or not ? On the basis of which can i go ahead, what action should i take ?
V R SHROFF
(Expert) 22 August 2013
Sa..k
Did you Complain to CYBER CRIME??
What happened thereafter???