Case law

(Querist) 23 April 2012 This query is : Resolved 
Dear Sirs,

Can anyone kindly guide me as to how to find relevant case laws, i.e, i have tried searching for case law wrt section 39 of Indian contract Act, but did not get good results.

thanks and regards,
Pragati
Deepak Nair (Expert) 23 April 2012
Refer a text book of contract act with commentaries. You can get a lot of case laws with respect to each and every sections.
ajay sethi (Expert) 23 April 2012
www. indian kanoon . com
Shonee Kapoor (Expert) 23 April 2012
Try www.indiankanoon.org

Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 23 April 2012
Nothing to add in the already given advice.
Vintee Mishra (Expert) 24 April 2012
Hi, I am assuming you do not have access to www.manupatra.com, which is the best source of Indian case laws in all the spheres of law and not provided by traditional universities in India. All the National Law Universities and law firms provide access of same to their students and associates and rely completely on it.

You may contact them and ask for cost of the software. They may offer a deal for student(s). This software is slightly costly and you may request your college to approach them and ask for a deal, as it will be the most beneficial thing for you and other students in future.

For immediate help, you may refer to:
1. http://www.judis.nic.in/
2. Delhi High Court website to access cases - they uploaded on daily basis as compared to other state high courts, but you may check on other high courts' site also.
3. Someone has suggested http://indiankanoon.org/ in thread above and is also a good source.
4.I am sure hard cover of all AIR and other cases are available in your college library and you may do a section wise search there.
5. Go to http://supremecourtcaselaw.com/ for Supreme Court case laws
6.http://www.legalservicesindia.com/judgments/supreme_court.htm
7. For foreign case laws and selected Indian cases, you may refer westlaw and lexis nexis, both paid software and findlaw.com.

Hope this information helps.
Vintee
prabhakar singh (Expert) 24 April 2012
hey!thank you.,but i knew.
R.K Nanda (Expert) 24 April 2012
Read book on Indian contract Act.
Pragati Inamdar (Querist) 24 April 2012
Thanks to you all.
your replies are very useful.

Pragati