Master the Science Behind Firearm Evidence. Register Now!

ANAND JAIN   13 March 2026 at 23:34

Selling a jointly held property by a co owner

hv a simple question.
Iam a 90 % disabled person with no ability to walk.
My mother died 5 yrs back. in May. we are 4 sisters and 1 brother.She left a detailed WILL on how to divide the property. This question pertains to the division of the plot or land. The concerned translated portion of the WILL is as under:
2 sisters r nri.
I decide through this WILL that the property of the plot as mentioned above should be given to all the four daughters and son in an equal proportion, which means they should become co-owners of the above property of the plot. But in future, due to any reason any of my son or daughter may expire, then the remaining alive heirs can distribute amongst them the above property of plot with their mutual consent, and they will be deemed as independent owners, and in this regard, my son or daughters or any third party and their heirs cannot create any objection or dispute, and if they will create such dispute or objection then it would be treated as null and void by virtue of this WILL. now, after 6 months i.e in the month of december, one of my sister passed away.

Now one of my sister says tht she hs sold off her portion of the plot to some buyer. the plot hsnot been divided. ALL the original papers r with me. they jst hv whtsapp copy. the nri sisters want some time to update their official papers.
can a coowner go and sell his portion without the consent of others and tht too without papers.
if this is legally permitted then i too shld go and sell it. the rest 2 wld follow later on.
Is this step legally valid because she claims tht her husband was a supreme court lawyer and hence understands law better. Actually, the prices of the plot hv increased. She is refusing to wait for remaining 2 and me. The buyer is now pressurising me to sell my portion to him through the same route.
i shall be thankful if u learned lawyers can throw some light and guide me.

ANAND JAIN

P.S: the plot is in my mom's name as of today.

Read more at: https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/experts/mother-s-will-744696.asp

Anonymous   13 March 2026 at 20:30

Challenging a family settlement on the basis of fraud

Can a non-signatory legal heir challenge a family settlement on the basis of fraud, while the parties are still alive? Or is it better if a signatory party challenges the family settlement? The family settlement was executed before the court, where fraud was played upon a party as well as the court.

Sorry for being anonymous, but it's important.

Anonymous   11 March 2026 at 12:22

Harassment

The husband took his wife's gold 25 years ago. He did not return it. Now that they are at odds, will the wife file a case of harassment? Will there be only a civil case? Will the time- limitation law be an obstacle?

Anonymous   10 March 2026 at 20:20

Is local manpower mandatory for contractors in assam?

We are contractor based in West Bengal and our company has recently been awarded an Operation & Maintenance (O&M) contract for an industrial facility located in the State of Assam.

In the Purchase Order / Contract agreement, there is no clause or condition mentioning mandatory engagement of local manpower or any fixed percentage of local employees.

However, during the mobilization stage, the client is insisting that we must recruit 100% local manpower, including skilled and executive positions. This requirement is being communicated verbally and through informal correspondence, but it is not part of the contractual terms.

In this context, I would like to seek legal guidance on the following points:

Is there any law or statutory requirement in the State of Assam that mandates private contractors to employ a fixed percentage (or 100%) of local residents?

Does any labour law or state regulation apply to executive, skilled, or technical manpower in private industrial contracts?

If such a requirement is not mentioned in the contract or purchase order, can the client legally enforce a 100% local manpower condition after award of the contract?

What would be the appropriate legal position of the contractor if such a condition is imposed later, outside the agreed contractual terms?

The query is purely for legal understanding and compliance purposes.

Any guidance from legal professionals familiar with Assam labour laws or industrial regulations would be highly appreciated.

Anonymous   05 March 2026 at 12:22

stamp duty and in come tax on gift

Father in law wants to gift a flat to his daughter in law in kalyan Maharashtra
How much will be stamp duty and any income tax will have to be paid by father-in-law or daughter in law?

Anonymous   02 March 2026 at 11:55

Legal advice required on notice period obligation

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am seeking your legal advice regarding my notice period obligation with my current employer.

As per my appointment letter, the notice period of 15 days is applicable after confirmation. I have completed 4 months of service; however, the company has not issued any confirmation letter to me till date. Despite this, HR is verbally insisting that I must serve a 2-month notice period, which they claim is as per company policy.

There is no written communication or clause in my appointment letter stating that a 2-month notice period applies during probation. Since I have not been formally confirmed, my understanding is that I am still on probation and the post-confirmation notice period should not apply to me.

I have received an offer from another company that requires me to join within 15 days. I want to ensure that I comply with my legal and contractual obligations and exit properly without future legal or professional issues.

Could you please advise:

Whether I am legally bound to serve a 2-month notice period without having received a confirmation letter?

Whether I can serve/pay only the probation notice period as per my appointment letter?

Any risks involved if I resign by serving 15 days’ notice or salary in lieu of notice.

visuiyer   28 February 2026 at 00:02

Banking related

Sir ji,

Regarding the pending complaint with axis bank, as advised by veterans, I decided to give up and close my credit card account which has a balance of Rs. 511 (out of which Rs.500 unauthorised; and bank failed to reverse it; despite complaint lodged and Rs.11 is paid by me on card)

Now the bank closed my credit card on 23.02.2026 (officially sent the communication by mail and it was confirmed in the appalso)' upon my written request on 20.02.2026, but sending a message, (in different tone) that it will be reported to CIBIL only after clearing the balance. Now the bank fails to send DD for the credit balance, and not reporting to CIBIL.

This axis is giving discomfort even after closing the card account relationship.

Please guide me how to handle this. how safe if not reported to CIBIL. or can a bank remain silent by not reporting when the card account is closed.

Now how to proceed. (please don't mind to advise and do not consider this as repated query)

Nagaraju Patro   26 February 2026 at 19:34

Un authorised sale

Respected Experts......Good Evening
Please suggest in the below matter
One Chandram, S/o late Munaya, had two sons viz., (1) Babu Rao; (2) Mohan Rao and a daughter by name Manikyam. residing in andhra pradesh.
Here Babu Rao had 3sons Kumar, Ramu, Krishna...and wife by name Kamala. Except their younger son Krishna, Babu Rao and other 2 sons went to other area for their livelyhood as migrant labourers.
Chandrayya had landed property of 0.32cents and out of that extent he donated 0.03cents to the Government for formation of Road, and afterwords 0.29 cents left with him. After his death said landed property was devolved to Babu Rao and his brother Mohan Rao, Later they both shared said land in the ratio of 0.14cents and 0.15 respectively, and as per their oral partition they were in peaceful posession and enjoyment of their shares. Later on Mohan Rao was in need of money and sold away his share to the wife of Babu Rao, since said purchase she was in peaceful posession of 0.15 cents. Their Son Krishna was indebted in the village, as the situations stands so one Kamayya had ill will to get the property in any manner. Arranged one Sahu to purchase and convinced the Krishna and his mother kamala to sell away the property to clear the debt in the village. So they both executed a regd. sale infavour of sahu, later Kamayya again purchsed said proper from sahu in the last year. When Babu Rao and other two sons came to village they got knowledge of the unauthorised sale by Kamala and Krishna.
In this Case what is the remidy available to Babu Rao and his other 2 sons Kumar and Ramu.....
Under what provision they can file a suit? against whom? under which section they have to pay court fee....

Anonymous   24 February 2026 at 00:55

Freehold conversion order awaited

I have applied for conversion of govt leasehold plot to Free hold in Maharashtra, all formalities have been completed, Land record office and SDO has sent positive report, collector has issued demand challan for conversion charges, which I paid on 28/1/26 and original challan given to collector office, but till today formal freehold conversion Order has not been issued , I have sent letter to collector on 11/2/26 but no response
What should I do now? Please advise

Anonymous   23 February 2026 at 13:10

Revocation of suspension

Currently I am working in SBI as an Officer. I was made a scapegoat by my superiors in a theft case, unfortunately leading to my suspension on 26 September 2025. As advised in the order, I request for an appeal within 45 days of Suspension. I requested the Bank to provide the supporting documents and CCTV footage to prove my innocence, which they did not respond till date.However I have not been issued any chargesheet in connection with the case. After 5 months from the date of suspension, I received a Review order on 21 February 2026 where it was mentioned that the suspension order shall continue. Should I move to HC to file petition against the suspension order??