sagar madan   23 August 2008 at 15:29

EPF Transfer

Dear All
I have changed my job from XYZ company to ABC company.
What is the procedure for tansfer of my EPF from XYZ to ABC?

N.K.Assumi   23 August 2008 at 12:45

Section 2 (J) Industrial disputes Act 1947:

Whether Red lights business which are run with the permission of the Government falls within the meaning of Industry under section 2 (J) of the IDA 1947?That section clearly keep out spiritual or religious wants and wishes. It's an industry isn't?

Arihant AC   23 August 2008 at 12:39

Applicability of Grautity Act 1972 to Trust Hospital

Hello Friends

I have 1 querry regarding Grautity Act applicable to Hospital run on grant of Govt.

1 Hospital is running by trust with no profit making. On Loss they recd. grant in Rs. from Govt of 25% to 50% of loss. The said Hospital is in Urban Area where only poor people came for treatment. The staff of Hospital including Doctors are more then 20. The said Hospital is running since last 30 years. they demand grant to Govt. for giving grautity to the Employee who are been retired.

I want to know that whether this type of Establishment running on grant, has to pay Grautity or whether the said hospital can get Exemption from Grautity Act?

Waiting for early reply.

Nehal

advocate satya   21 August 2008 at 14:11

procedure of forwarding matter when concilation fails

sir
a labour matter had been filed before the labour commisioner, the concilation fails , the labour commissioner holding the file and not forwarding to court stating it will be filed in one and half year, what is the procedure? what is the remedy for it and what the commisioner is stating is it correct and under which section?

Manish   19 August 2008 at 17:28

Cheque Dishonour

I was supposed to join a company for which I signed a bond of Rs 1 lakh. I gave them a cheque for it, which they said was just for a formality (Bond was effective from the date of joining). 10 days before joining, I got an offer from a different company and joined them. I informed the previous company 1 week before my joining date about it through Email and Fax. I also spoke to their HR head on it.

After that I asked my bank to cancel the cheque I gave them. There was no communication after that from that organisation.
Suddenly after 6 month, I got a legal notice from that organisation regarding the dishonour of cheque. I called them up and asked for the reason for sending it when the Bond was not effective as I did not joined. But they did not listen. After that I got a legal summon which I could not receive as I was out of station that time. So it went back without receiving.
Please tell me do I really need to take this seriously and if yes, what should be my course of action.
I really do not want to get into legal issues as my job requires lot of travelling. Can I keep on ignoring the notices they send? Please advice.

Srinivas   19 August 2008 at 17:06

Leave under maternity Benefit act

Dear all,

can you pls suggest me about the following:

1. what is the number of days of leave that we have to give for women employees under maternity benefit act?
2. Should we have to pay full salary for the period?
3. I understand law recommends 12 weeks leave and if the person is still not fit and if receommeded by their doctor for further rest, then, the leave can be extended for 1 more month(3 months + 1 month). Under this case, should the company pay salary for the fourth month and give leave under maternity benefit?

Hope to receive your response on this.

Srinivas

Balaram   18 August 2008 at 13:25

Dear Mr. Manish,

One of my senior told me that its not applicable to NOn-Govt employees and also to AP Shops & Estbalishment.

Could you help me to findout exactly whether its applicable to companies, forms, shops under AP Shops & Establishment Act ? Can i get any detailed reference / proof / Act / Amendment ? Can you help me to get it for us if its applicable ?

vinod bansal   15 August 2008 at 20:38

minimum wages act

Sir
I am in need of minimum wages act,plz provide if possible...Thanks
Vinod Bansal advocate

vandana   14 August 2008 at 12:31

labour law amendments query

1. Has the industrial disputes (amendment) bill, 2002 been passed and if yes, when has the change in definition of workman come into effect?

FYI-Section 2(s) defines a workman. Earlier the definition of a workman excluded any person employed in a supervisory capacity drawing wages more than Rs 1600 per month (Section 2(s)(iv)). The bill seeks to remove this ceiling on wages in the definition, thus bringing all workmen employed in a supervisory capacity under the purview of the act, regardless of their wages.

2. I’m a victim of a forced resignation and wish to file a criminal suit against the management for their unfair labour practices as u/s 2 sub-section (ra) of the Act. Kindly advise me on the procedure and forum to be approached for redressal? i.e. do I file a complaint at the labour office or at the police station or directly at the magistrate court?

FYI- FIFTH SCHEDULE - UNFAIR LABOUR PRACTICES [See section 2(ra)]
I - On the part of employers
5. To discharge or dismiss workmen - (a) by way of victimization (FORCED RESIGNATION)

Gurumourthi   13 August 2008 at 15:39

Provident Fund and Gratuity

In our company as per the order the retirement age is 58 years. If the employee is given extension for another 2 years say upto 60 years, then whether he can continue as member of Provident Fund (payable both employee and employer contribution) and Gratuity.