Shalu   21 May 2012 at 10:39

My husband and in-laws cheated me, what should i do?

Hello Madam/Sir,

I need your precious advise, ours is an arrange marriage,our marriage has done under Hindu Marriage act and that was lavisly done, my parents gave each and everything on my marrige, they spent their savings on my marriage, they completed all the demands of my husband and in laws.

As I Married in March 2010,My husband started doing bad behaviour after six months i.e Sep 2010,he started rebuking and using bad language for me, on initial stage for me i ignored, our house was on Fourth floor and having terrace,my husband used to go on to terrace and drink and busy in calling to his friends(Girl)at night on weekends (He did night shift)he did not have time for me ,We have never been in relation from the date of our marriage.he threatened me to throw me out from the terrace.I told this thing to my Mother-in law at the very next day,she told me that she would talk to him, but she did not.

As the time passes, situation became more worst.Before Marriage he told me that he is Delhi University graduate, but one day i found his degree which is from Lucknow university (means he made false statement before marriage).

My husband always remained out of house on Saturdays and sundays.Not spent time with me.

from the initial months of my marriage, i
gave my salary to my mother in law.as the time passes, she became demanding as (there was wood work at our home in Sep 2010, i spent,bought new refrigerator in Oct-2010, My husband wanted to buy new car, she demanded me to buy and pay EMIs , we bought a new car in Mar-2011). But my husabnd and my relation was in bad situation.

After knowing this fact, that my husband and my relations are not sound (as he started arguments with me in front of the family members), my Mother in law, Father in law and my sister in law (Married near to our house) started planning to sell the house, they pressurized us to leave the house and advised us to start living on rented house.

My husband used to drink and smoke excessive, and now my mother in law and sister in law started teach him many bad things against me.

They created a situation so worse, i left the house and came to my parent's house empty handed.All my gold and clothes are still with them.because i had no intention for divorce, i thought my husband will be with me one day.

After pushing out of the house, they sold the house without intimating me and my family.

My husband resigned from his job and absconding.he is doing nothing, this just because not to give anything to me.

Now my in laws did not talk to me and they don't want to give me anything.

My husband ruined my life.i want Justice!!!
Please advise..

Thanks and Regards

Unhappy Girl   21 May 2012 at 08:39

Divorce

I have been married for nearly 3 years now. Right from the beginning my husband and I used to have arguments over many things, a lot of which in hindsight seem to have been aviodable.

A lot of such arguments were preceived by me to be trivial disagreements and I had never thought of those as anything but the initial quibbles that most couples have. However, almost a year after marriage I came to realise that these arguments are being treated as major issues and infact, as unforgivable issues, by my husband. Now 2 more years later also, he persists on saying that all our present fights are also stemming from those 3 year old disagreements/ fights.

I have already apologised many times as I realise that I have contributed as much to these fights as my husband has. But he is not ready to let go.

every new fight results in a lot of verbal abuse and physical damage to the household items. my husband makes it a point to shout abuse about my parents and me, calling us bad names and damaging things to make me scared in every fight.

He says that he is making me realise what he went through. He says that I have to do penance for all that I did wrong before he decides to put things behind. And he refuses to acknowledge that he has contributed in any manner to the state of this relationship.

There is no physical abuse. I have conceded over and over again that I have made my mistakes too. But I don't want to stay in this relationship by proving my worth. I am not asking him to prove his repentance, nor am I insisting that he has to swear to correct all that he did in the past. I was willing to forgive and move on. But thats not happening now.

We are both unhappy. If I did do penance the way he wants and he stopped his abuse, I would not be happy with him, knowing that I am being judged every minute and an account is being maintained of every lapse I make.

My husband will not agree to a mutual divorce. Do you think our inability to live happily together can be grounds for divorce?

I would like some clarification on whether divorce is possible when there is no complaint of physical abuse, harrassment by in-laws, etc?

shivender singh   20 May 2012 at 22:47

Divorce..

I was married to my wife in jun 2003 since then we have been living together as husband and wife. though there were no major problems between us but i was not happy with the marriage. in nov 2009 i had to go abroad and was away from my wife for nearly 01 year. she was staying with her parents for complete 01 year. after coming back though we did not stay together she started behaving very badly with me. after coming back in OCT 2010, she wanted to adopt a child, for which she was not agreeing earlier. i did not say anything and my in laws found a child and was adopted(not through complete legal process). all the fake birth certificates were made by my father-in-law. saying that we dont want ot show as adopted because of social reasons etc. i thought maybe after having a child she will behave normally but she continued to have fights with me. in july 2011, she came to stay with me for 01 month, and continously harassed me. on seeing this i took her to her parents house and told her father that i cannot stay with her and i want a divorce. my father-in-law did not say anything and said thateverything will be all right. she stayed with her parents and contiously harassed me. hence in dec 2011 i filed a divorce caase against her. she did not attend any hearing. and in mar 2012, filed a petition in supreme court for transfer of case to her city since it was an inter state matter. the hearing is on 02 july 2012 in the supreme court. after having further talks with her she has agreed for a mutual divorce saying that whatever has to be done it should be done in her city court only. even she wants an early settlement, because of the money she will get.The queries that i have are:-
1. should we file for a mutual divorce petiton in her city court? but then it will take 06 months for final divorce.
2. if i get the case transfered to her city and against the case if she agrees for a divorce, then will it help in getting early divorce?
3. is there any other way which will get us an early divorce?
thanks for reading patiently. hope to get the experts advise as soon as possible.

Kanchan Madan   20 May 2012 at 18:05

Divorce case

What does the term PM stands in legal terms.

A KUMAR   20 May 2012 at 14:47

Will

Respected Sir,

my father signed his WILL in the year 1995 (unregistered)for his self acquired house in the name of his son A. Kumar, and he ha given me full right, title and interest in that house
WILL was written one 2 pages by typewriter first page has two witnesses and father signature and the second page has father signature as well as two witnesses signature and addresses at the bottom, but due to 3 folds of the will the paper where witness signed is cut away, although it is readable and cutted paper is fine, I scanned this paper and got print out, nobody can say it has cut, should I laminate it or paste gum on the back side of paper, both the witnesses are alive one is working with my father in same department and other is government servant (retired) living in my neighbourhood and my father expired in 2011.

I ask advice of one lawyer and he told me to just laminate this will, this will is fine because it is very old.

Regarding the cutted paper at the bottom of 2nd page where witnessess signed, Can lawyer prove that it is the same paper same typing samr alphabet etc., if my sister or mother challenged the WILL of my father in court of law, Please guide me. Paper become yellowish color, will court accept it or not. I told my father when he was alive in 2011 at that time he has paralysis and cannot hold pen he put his thumb impression on two paper's and my friend who is along with me write by pen on plain paper that I have signed a will in 1995 dated so and so in new delhi and now I am ill cant write therefore I request Mr. Sharma to write on my behalf that I have signed a will in 1995 and I want to give this house to my son A. KUMAR after my death This paper is in support of my will. My thumb impression can be verify from my office records or I have sold two more properties they also have my thumb impression.Mr Sharma execute that paper and two person singed on that paper.

Please give your opinions what is right way for me.

Can my sister's forcibly entered the house. Because my mother always says that She will keep her daughter in this house, one sister tried once but I told her to go and bring court order and then you can live here.

can I laminate the will? I am very afraid because every body in my faimly is with my mother and sister, my father has no brother, and my grandfather has no brother I am also alone, My mother brother's (my maternal uncle living in the same colony also supporting my mother). Although every body in our colony knows that my father signed a will in my name, if there is some problem in house, he always says that the actual owner is my son talk to him

t. surya. p.   20 May 2012 at 13:10

Child custody

I am a hindu girl converted to islam to marry in 2006 and could not continue the relation due to mental/physical torture by husband.Separated one year back through "KHULLA", according to islamic law. The very same night my ex husband absconded with elder girl(3 years)and I complained to police and applied habias corpus in Delhi high court. He presented the child in court as per court order and court awarded temporary relief by ordering him to give the child to me for 2 days weekly, as well as to pay Rs.3,000 per month for 2nd child's maintenance.
Last month, Habias corpus file is closed in High court and told to apply in trial court for further custody related things and I did. My question is, what are the chances of getting my both children to my custody and how long it will take. Mean time he also filed the suit to take second child from me in another trial court, to give more stress to me. Since I am looking after myself and child by securing small job and rent will be paid by my parents in Karnataka.

Member (Account Deleted)   20 May 2012 at 12:58

Marraige registration

If the marraige takes place in West Bengal in one of the manners prescribed in Hindu Marraige Act, can the registration of the same be obtained subsequently in Delhi? What is the cost involved?

Whether registration will be effective from the retrospective date? If not,then will it not result in two different dates of marriage of the same persons?

Is registration mandatory now?

C.S. A.K.Maitra

Kanchan Madan   20 May 2012 at 12:10

Divorce case

My son"s divorce case in going in court for the last 15 months, suddenly DIL filed case in CAW cell and given list of items inflating to more than 80 lacs whereas they had hardly spent 4-5 lacs on wedding.We also give very nominal jwellery. Now she is claiming streedhan left behind e.g 12 gold sets 5 diamons sets. 10 guinees of 10gms each dozen silver glasses, silver platter 14 nosepin diamonds 9 rings etc. a lavish list. we are normal middle class family. Kindly guide how to handle and what precautions we should take at home.

samuel singh   20 May 2012 at 03:30

Sec 13c(4)

(4) In considering, for the purpose of sub-section (2), whether the period for
which the parties to a marriage have lived apart has been continuous, no
account shall be taken of any one period (not exceeding three months’ in all)
during which the parties resumed living with each other, but no other period
during which the parties lived with each other shall count as part of the period
for which the parties to the marriage lived apart.
pls interpret the time of living apart stated in section.

Pardeep   19 May 2012 at 20:06

Inheritance

Hi, I am a UK citizen. My grandfather on my fathes side r's passed and left ancestral unearned property in India. Can I file a claim from the UK or would it require my going to India to do so? My parents are divorced, if the property has already been transferred by my father to his name, do I still have any rights. My understanding is that by Indian law it is to be distributed equally amongst all offspring.