Greedy relative want money

(Querist) 18 June 2013 This query is : Resolved 
Hello experts,
We are living in ghaziabad ( GDA flat ) from last 23 years. my father bought this flat from my mother's brother ( mama ji).
my father did mistake he was not did any power of attorney with mama ji. and now we are going for registery my mama ji is asking for 1 laks ruppes. we have flat file + my father is submitting electricity bill by cheque from last approx 10 years.
my father have one paper signed by my mama ji in which the below text wrote.
" i am receiving the sum of 11500/- from mr xxx kumar."
signed on raseedi ticket.

please help me how can we save our money.

Thanks & regards..
K Kishore
Dr. Jyothi Vishwanath (Expert) 18 June 2013
Clarify following:
What you mean by "bought this flat". Was it a sale. Was the sale registered. What you mean by flat file.
Submission of electricity bills only shows possession and not ownership.
For ownership, you should have title passing to you by sale or gift or exchange which is duly registered and stamped.
Receiving amount on raseedi ticket with no mention of why the amount was received does not establish that your father purchased the property or that he is owner.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 18 June 2013
Presently your father should accept the demand of your Mama Ji. In this way your father will be able to get the title of the flat which is now in your possession, but not owned even as per your version you have purchased the same.
Nadeem Qureshi (Expert) 18 June 2013
Dear Kishore
1 lac is not a big amount as litigation will be expenvise more then this, so settle the matter amicably.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 19 June 2013
your father never bought this flat. you have no case to fight. your mamaji may find a better buyer than you