Theft fir regarding

(Querist) 21 September 2016 This query is : Resolved 
Greetings,

Around three months back, while going to college my mobile phone was snatched by some unknown persons on motorbike. The incident happened in front of police beat house, despite my repeated cries, no constable came forward. The place where incident happened was under CCTV surveillance. But the police person told me that "CCTV kharab Hai, bas aese hi lage huye he, recording nahi hoti".

I went to Police station for lodging of FIR. Initially the S.I. refused to lodge FIR, however, after much persuasion, FIR was lodged. Till date no whereabouts of mobile are known to me.

Today, I received a call from SI who told me that they are closing the FIR as stipulated time has been passed and for this they need my signatures.

Experts may please guide, what does putting signatures means?? How can a case be closed without final outcome?? Does FIR also have time barred relating things?? Is police is making free itself from this mess of investigation of theft??

PLease advice, I am student and have very little knowledge about these processes.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 21 September 2016
This is a procedure wherein if police within the period of 3 months fails to trace-out the real culprits in such types of matters, it closes the case in the court and the complainant is required to be called therein. You can continue the same case in the trial court as a private complaint case.
vamsi (Expert) 22 September 2016
You can continue the case in the trial court as a private case
Ms.Usha Kapoor (Expert) 22 September 2016
Agree with Mr.Makkad.
Rajendra K Goyal (Expert) 22 September 2016
Agree with the advice from expert raj kumar makkad.