Property transfer & legal documents

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 07 January 2010 This query is : Resolved 

There is ten acres Agri land in a village of Karnataka It is inherited land(Now standing barren) and this land is been used by tenant for 60 years and all the documents in Khata are in dad's name priorly and now the same is been transferred in My & my brothers and sisters name. We have taken a petty loan of Rs 50000/- from a bank just to safeguard the property. Now the tenant has lodged a complaiant to tashildar that the land should be of him only and nobody's else.
Kindly let us know the measures to be taken by us so that the land should be in our name only. Also let us know the exact law relating to this. Also provide the process of sale of the land if done by us what are the documents to be taken to safe guard the sale to outsider to collect correctly the sale proceeds.

Thanks in advance.

Please mail to maheshkulkarni29@gmail.com

Mahesh Kulkarni.
B K Raghavendra Rao (Expert) 07 January 2010
When your land is a barren land, I do not know how there could be a tenant. However, for your clarification, you are informed as follows:

As the tenant has complained to Tahsildar, there shall be proceedings in the matter before the Assistant Commissioner (AC). A notice would be sent to you as Respondent and you will have an opportunity to defend your title.

If you want to sell the agricultural land, the purchaser must be an agriculturist with an annual income not exceeding Rs. 2 lakhs per annum during the preceding five years as per Section 80(1)(a)(iii) and Section 79-A(1) of Karnataka Land Reforms Act, 1961.
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 07 January 2010
I do agree with Rao
Kiran Kumar (Expert) 07 January 2010
its strange that how a tenant that too of a barren land asserted such a right....i dont think he has got any such pre-emptive right or priority right here.

for Karnataka specific law, Mr. Rao has already adviced you.