Harassment in office

(Querist) 07 March 2022 This query is : Resolved 

I am a central govt employee . my office Office Superintendent (OS) is harassing me these days for everything for no fault of mine. making me to stay in office for extra hours intentionally, time and again shouting on me etc. I have taken it to notice of Foreman too. But foreman gave deaf ear.

Could you pls guide me what should I do now ? Can I approach police people for this ?
I am afraid if I take it to notice of higher authorities I will be transferred . Pls guide me how should I come out of this.

can I approach police people for this ? if So will they take this case of harassment in office ? what are the proofs for it etc.
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 07 March 2022
How does office Superintendent and Foreman work together in central government ? What is your designation / work type i.e., office work (clerical) or technical ?
Did you report the matter to your officer in-charge / higher officer ?
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 07 March 2022

under Foreman (SSE) , OS will be there.

My designation is Khalasi/class4.

I reported once to Foreman. he heard but did not said anything to anyone.

Pls reply back with remedies etc and all my doubts. Please.
kavksatyanarayana Online (Expert) 07 March 2022
You shall report the matter to your Higher authorities through a registered post, marking a copy to Disha Mahila police station.
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 07 March 2022
Sir, thanks for your reply.

What about proofs if they ask us...how to prove when everything is done verbally ? could you pls throw some light ?
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 08 March 2022
Lodge a complaint against the Supd. to Internal Complaints Committee under the provisions Section 9 of The SEXUAL HARASSMENT OF WOMEN AT WORKPLACE (PREVENTION, PROHIBITION AND REDRESSAL) ACT, 2013 with relevant records.
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 08 March 2022
Sir, good morning... Thanks for your reply.

when you say relevant records , Ordinary mobile record will help ? kindly guide.
P. Venu (Expert) 08 March 2022
Are you employed with the Railways? How is that the Office Superintendent is supervising your work? It appears that there are some missing facts. Please post all the material facts.
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 08 March 2022
yes employed with railways.
Office Superintendent assigns us work. supervising everything will be done manually only. infact office attendance, timings etc everything will be done manually. no biometric attendance etc implemented in our office as of now.

Regarding material facts, I dont have any. Time and again he is shouting on me. I hve taken it to notice of higher level people once ORALLY. but no improvement.

Pls guide me how can I initiate action against him.
P. Venu (Expert) 09 March 2022
There are proactive unions for the railway employees. You can bring things to their notice.
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 09 March 2022
P.Venu Sir,

Thanks for your reply. These days unions have no power. they dont have teeth any more. They are mere dummies from last 3 year.

Anyways anything I can do legally like approaching police station... incase if police people ask for proof how to show. all these are oral /verbal happenings. can ordinary phone record serve the purpose ?
Anish Thakur 7018812737 (Expert) 31 March 2022
yes, phone recording is admissible subject to compliance of section 65 b of Indian evidence act. you should follow the above advisory given by the experts. You can even send compliant to the state women commission of your state .
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 31 March 2022
Sir, whats the meaning of "SUBJECT TO COMPLIANCE OF SECTION 65b of indian evidence act "

could you pls throw some light ?
Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 01 April 2022
All electronic evidences are required to be supported by a "certificate under section 65 B of Indian Evidence Act, 1872"
Gayatri Gayatri (Querist) 01 April 2022
Sir I am new to this subjects...

pls throw some light on ""certificate under section 65 B of Indian Evidence Act, 1872"

Dr J C Vashista (Expert) 02 April 2022
You have adequately been obliged by experts.
It is better to engage and consult a local prudent lawyer for proper analyses of the facts, professional advise and necessary proceeding, if there is some truth in the story.
Prima facie it is an academic topic being dragged.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 12 February 2023
In case you are sure that you are subjected to gender harassment then there is nothing which compels you to report to none else then foreman. You are free to write directly to the highest authorities in Railways.

Feasibility of criminal case can be deliberated after knowing details of harassment.