Regarding Engagement

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 10 May 2010
Iam Suresh working in MNC as a Techlead, i would like to know one information,
I met one girl in her Relatives home and we like each other and we loved nearly 6 months
and i spent more than 1.5lakhs(I have bills), after that her parents did the engagement for
both of us in front of my family members, after that we fought eachother for small topic
like she had some boy frnds, till that time she like me and loved me a lot after she said
no to me, without consulting me her parents returned all the engagement items to my uncle and they took one sign
on normal paper saying he received all the items(ex:- gifts, dresses, gold..etc), this was
happend before 5months, but still iam remembering her and loving her, after the cancellation
between their parents and my uncle(without my intervention) i used to call to their mobiles,
everybody changed their numbers and they used to scold me a lot and lot(with no extent),
kindly suggest me how can i proceed on them legally (i need to get the girl or money)
Raj Kumar Makkad
(Expert) 10 May 2010
HINDU MARRIAGE IS NOT A CONTRACT. THERE MIGHT NOT BE ANY RECEIPT OF MONEY FROM YOUR SIDE GIVEN TO THE PARENTS OF THE GIRL ONCE ENGAGED WITH YOU. SO LEGALLY YOU CANNOT CLAIM ANYTHING BACK OTHERWISE ALSO THEY HAVE RETURNED ALL MATERIAL TO YOUR UNCLE AND IF YOU WANT MONEY, CONTRACT YOUR UNCLE AND ENGAGEMENT DEPEND UPON LIKING FROM BOTH SIDES. YOU CANNOT FORCE OTHER SIDE TO COME TO YOUR TERMS.

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 10 May 2010
hi rajkumar,
I lost my prestige..., money and peace in my life.
mahendrakumar
(Expert) 11 May 2010
love is something which cannot be obtained by force or law.
even within 6 months of so called "love life",everything turned upside down.
one way it is better as had it been after marriage.......?