Master the Science Behind Firearm Evidence. Register Now!

Bank statement of my mil from my bil

(Querist) 15 June 2026 This query is : Resolved 
My wife and her family have filed a 498 A case on me and my parents. They said in their chief that they have given a Cash of Rs. 7.00 Lakhs for purchase of saman in marriage. When we ask my father-in-law about the bank statement, He has shown a Passbook in which dates of transactions are cutoff to the court. So nobody can ascertain the date of transaction from that passbook. hence my Advocate didn't ask question about Rs. 7.00 Lakhs transactions from my father-in-law and mother-in-law. But We know very well that We did not take any money from my wife or her family.
Now My Query is
Can I ask for Bank Statement of my mother-in-Law from my brother-in-Law in 498 A Case. Kindly Guide
kavksatyanarayana (Expert) 15 June 2026
You cannot obtain another person’s bank statement even through a Right to Information (RTI) request. You must file an application with the relevant Court or legal authority for the same. The court has the legal power to direct a bank to produce financial documents.