Money Related

(Querist) 19 October 2010 This query is : Resolved 
Iam from Mumbai my mother in law stays in Lucknow and my wife also with her in 2006 we got engaged during which immediately after our engagement my mother in law demanded 2 Lacs Rs from me to purchase a plot in Lucknow. On showing in capability i was threatened by my mother in law that this marriage wont be possible if i did not pay her the money and as i was in deep love my wife also convinced me to to do the same and i anyhow sent the money to her in 2006 through UAE Exchange from Dubai.
There was a Mutual Understanding between us that when she will buy the plot the plot should be in my name and her name as well and she agreed and very soon she bought a plot in Lucknow for 4 lacs as said by her and if the plot will be sold i will get the money as and when it is asked to sell she agreed for the same then we got married on 2008.

I then one day asked my mother in law to show the papers of the plot which she purchased but she denied and we had an argument for the same. She then started teaching my wife and made our relations bad and we both are living separate now because of my mom in law and the plot cost is now more than 15 lacs.

Please Guide me what steps to be Taken and what to do
1)I had the remittance receipt from the exchange i have sent the money and which can be reflected in my mother in laws account as well.
2)I want to file some thing in cognizance as she is not willing to Talk and last time i went to Lucknow to talk they arrested me by there local police and was asked to be put in jail if i will be seen in lucknow next time.
3)i want the money as per now and share which is now costing more than 15 lacs if sold because if it is sold now i must get 50 %.

Please reply asap
Devajyoti Barman (Expert) 19 October 2010
1. If the property is registered in your wife's name then you could file suit for benami declaration. Otherwise the remittance receipt will ne of no help.
2 &3. I think you could try for filing a case of extortion against your mother in law. The monetary dispute would be of help to you in this respect.
F L SHAIKH (Querist) 19 October 2010
No the property is not registered in my wifes name but sir why is it not worth the receipt as it is in original and she cannot deny that i have given her money and what is the procedure to file the extortion money.
Pls reply.
DEFENSE ADVOCATE.-firmaction@g (Expert) 19 October 2010
If you have no documents to support your story , no action possible.
Kirti Kar Tripathi (Expert) 19 October 2010
agree with Mr. Shashikumar
pls sir i mean what are the documents required to support my story normal what kind of documents are required for the same type of case.
With all respects i ask this that how a person can make an agreement from abroad because the plot was supposed to be purchased in urgent and that is the reason i was asked the money first otherwise the cost would be more at the time when i will come from abroad and when i came during marriage there was no time to ask for this agreement since immediately after marriage i asked her to prepare the agreement that is the reason she started teaching my wife and within 3 months my wife went back to her mothers place and now they are asking for divorce she has already filed for divorce in Lucknow and i dont want to divorce her and if i divorce her i need all my money back which they are denying to give and i mean an official receipt is of no value from the exchange company. pls reply
Raj Kumar Makkad (Expert) 19 October 2010
I do agree with Shaikh.