sinvas
10 November 2014 at 23:16
Sir, I have a doubt, I just sold my property and the person who is purchasing got his approval on the loan applied and bank is paying me thru cheque of 20 Lakhs. Now my question is can i deposit this in my savings account, and shall i need to pay tax on my amount. Also advise me can i deposit the same in a cooperative bank. Plz. suggest. waiting for your valuable suggestion.
kumar
hyd
YAGNESH HASMUKH DAVE
10 November 2014 at 19:30
i am having agriculture land which is situated within 3km to 4km from grampanchayat office and population of village is 5000/-
The said land i am selling whether capital gain tax atttracts on sale of said land or exempted pl explain
Anubhav
10 November 2014 at 16:24
Hello members,
i have received I-T notice u/s 143(2)/142(1) for the assessment year 2012-13.
I have submitted my return for the A.Y. 2012-13 on 18/06/2012 and the same was processed by CPC on 21/12/2012.
I got the notice on 24/09/2013 u/s 143(2)/142(1).Then again on 14/10/2014 i received the pending assessment notice in this connection only:-
1)Is it a valid notice considering time frame?
2)Is the ITR once processed by CPC be questioned by assessing officer as in my case?
3)A.O. has asked me to furnish details of all my family members with regard to their occupation and Annual income with source.Can he ask for such details or can i decline to submit such details u/s 143(2)/142(1)?
4)How should i reply to such notice?
venkatswamy
10 November 2014 at 15:11
I am an ex-servicemen and now a central government employ drawing disability pension (disability 40%). Is disability pension (which includes service element) exempted from income tax? If it is exempted, under which section should i show it in IT returns? please guide me.
Thankyou
Venkat
arindam das
08 November 2014 at 13:43
I want to venture in to the field of Service Tax. Kindly advise which book to follow as a practitioner. It must be easy to understand and authentic.
Thank you
Anthony Mathias
07 November 2014 at 12:05
What is the validity period of a DEPB license from the date of its issue. The 2004 to 2005 Policy at Para 4.33 stated that the validity of the license shall be 24 months.
In the Policy for the year 2005-2006 it stated that the validity "The validity period of DEPB for import shall be as prescribed in the Handbook (Vol.1)."
The HBP vol 1 at para 4.50 states No revalidation shall be granted beyond the original period of validity of DEPB unless it expires in the custody of the Licencing/ Customs Authorities as per the provisions under para 2.13 of the Handbook.
This statement has continued in the policy for 2009-2014 where Para 4.3.3 of FTP states Validity period of DEPB for import shall be as prescribed in HBP v1.
Para 4.50 of HPB Vol 1 states "No revalidation shall be granted beyond original period of
validity of DEPB unless it expires in custody of Regional /Customs Authorities as per paragraph 2.13 of HBP v1.
How do you determine what is the original period of validity.
Anthony Mathias
07 November 2014 at 11:55
What is the validity period of a DEPB license from the date of its issue. The 2004 to 2005 Policy at Para 4.33 stated that the validity of the license shall be 24 months.
In the Policy for the year 2005-2006 it stated that the validity "The validity period of DEPB for import shall be as prescribed in the Handbook (Vol.1)."
The HBP vol 1 at para 4.50 states No revalidation shall be granted beyond the original period of validity of DEPB unless it expires in the custody of the Licencing/ Customs Authorities as per the provisions under para 2.13 of the Handbook.
This statement has continued in the policy for 2009-2014 where Para 4.3.3 of FTP states Validity period of DEPB for import shall be as prescribed in HBP v1.
Para 4.50 of HPB Vol 1 states "No revalidation shall be granted beyond original period of
validity of DEPB unless it expires in custody of Regional /Customs Authorities as per paragraph 2.13 of HBP v1.
How do you determine what is the original period of validity.
if I am manufacturer in india and for exporting my goods to canada, the candian government provides services to me. for example: some registration work (for liasoning, on the basis of this service, i can export my product to canada).
Is there any liability to pay service tax on me ?
-----
Thanks with regards
Vinit
BSKRAO
07 November 2014 at 09:47
(1) It was clearly held by the Hon’ble Supreme Court in the case of Bar Council of India Vs A.K.Balaji [SLP(Civil)No(s)17150-17154/2012] Dt.4.7.2012 (SC) upholding the Madras High Court judgment in the case of A.K.Balaji Vs Govt. of India (2012) 35 KLR 290 21.02.2012 (Madras HC) that Advocates alone are entitled to practice the Profession of Law both in litigious & non-litigious matters, nullifying the effect of Section 33 of The Advocates Act,1961. This also confirms to Section 29 of The Advocates Act,1961.
(2) The constitution bench of Supreme Court of India in National Tax Tribunal case of Madras Bar Association Vs Union of India bearing No.150 of 2006 Dtd.25.09.2014, it was also held that Non-Advocates to represent party to an appeal before NTT, unconstitutional and unsustainable in law. On date, appearance clause under all Indian taxation statute has been subject to review of apex court. If such appearance clause still retained in statute books of Indian taxation laws, situation may arise that orders of the assessing authorities passed against the representations of other than Advocates will become in-fructuous, bad in law, null & void. Further, such orders cannot be enforced and / or appealed.
(3) Latest policy decision of the learned officials in Finance Ministry to expand the definition of “Accountant” to include related professionals in DTC-2013 is most welcome move. But, in order to give full effect for the same, Tax Practitioners Law is most essential for India to enable other than Advocates also to practice exclusively in taxation laws in India. Our esteemed Central Govt. must come out with subordinate legislation; introduce Tax Practitioners Bill covering all five class of tax law professionals of India (Viz.Legal Practitioners, Chartered Accountants, Cost & Management Accountants, Company Secretaries and Income-Tax Practitioners). Such Tax Practitioners Bill should be introduced with “Preamble” stating that “other than Advocates are also practicing exclusively in the line of tax laws in India, in order to protect them & also in the interest of Govt. revenue, this Tax Practitioners Bill has been introduced”. Then such Tax Practitioners Law cannot be struck down in view of the above court verdicts. Treasury Department Circular No.230 for regulations governing practice before the Internal Revenue Service of Income-Tax Deptt. in USA & Tax Agent Service Act of Australia are very good examples for kind consideration of Ministry of Finance, Government of India to have similar Tax Practitioners Law in India also, to generate tax professionals for widening genuine tax base of assesses.
(4) Due to latest court verdicts on practice of law, India is badly in need of Tax Practitioners Law. Among Legal Practitioners, Cost & Management Accountants, Company Secretaries, Chartered Accountants and Income-Tax Practitioners, who wants to practice tax law in India, should mandatorily seek registration under Tax Practitioners Law, whatever their parent body says is immaterial & Tax Practitioners Law should recognize the qualifications acquired by all the five class of tax professionals. On date ample tax compliance work is there, but there is no required Tax Professionals to support voluntary compliance in Indian taxation laws. Further, “More persons in the line of tax practice more revenue to the Government”.
(5) Tax Practitioners Law in the lines of “US Treasury Circular No.230” is well suited to India, required for India & also need of the hour to widen genuine tax base of assesses. “Tax Practitioners Law, if brought in India, will generate self employment with added advantage of increased revenue collection”. I/We hope that Ministry of Finance, Govt. of India will consider this suggestion/representation, which is in the interest of Govt. revenue & all five class of Tax Professionals of India.
Bank loan regarding
my salary is 1,30,000/- pm before tax deduction. Recently i approached a builder to purchese a flat and accepted for the same. i am ready to pay through a bank by getting Housing loan for which my bank also accepted to give the loan.Flat value is 40,00,000/But registration value at bangalore 28,00,000/-but seller is demanding the amount 12,00,000/- in cash. I dont want any problems for either side.what ever amount is i want to pay through a D.D or cheque.Hence i request you all the Experts give me a suitable advice in this regard in the best interest of the BOTH and BOTH(Buyer and Seller ) should not suffer in ANY MANNER in future. Thanq. Even bank also accepted to give loan of Rs.40,00,000/- for us.Thank you.