gurinder singh   27 July 2022 at 14:34

Vat penalty

e way bill expired due to a sudden storm on hills as vehicle had to take shelter for few hours for storm to pass. VAT officer intercepted and asking to deposit tax and penalty. I asked trader to pay tax and I will pay penalty as he will get his tax refund, adjusted subsequently. Trader is not agreeing. He says his CA has advised him that he will not get his tax amount back. This seems illogical to me as govt will logically not take tax twice on same goods. Am I right or the trader is right?

Read more at: https://www.lawyersclubindia.com/forum/penalty-under-vat-for-expired-e-way-bill-225228.asp

Asim Das   30 June 2022 at 22:08

Gst related query

A developer constructed multi storied building under joint development agreement . now this building contains various flat some having carpet area more than 60 sq mt some units less than 60 sq. mtr.
So while selling flats /residential units having carpet area less than 60 sq. mt. can he impose 1% GST and for those having more than 60 sq. mts. carpet area 5 % , the price limit being within the prescribe limit as per Gst law.
Please guide me.

Anonymous   01 January 2022 at 13:12

Fm refusal to extend date for income tax return filing

Last date for filing of income tax returns was extended by the Govt. till 31.12.2021. Many persons could not file their returns not due to their fault but due to mal-functioning of new income tax website launched by Income tax Department. Complaints and grievances are placed before the CPC but no effective remedy is given. Now the date is over and the ordinary citizen/tax payer has no divine power to put the clock back. If the Govt. and FM have, I do not know.

In the above scenario, what can the ordinary person do. Can Lawyers club take up such issues before the Govt.

Shivani Arora   29 November 2021 at 14:10

Who is shed appraiser?

Who is Shed Appraiser?

Anonymous   25 November 2021 at 00:18

Cash sale exceeding twenty thousand

Is it legal to pay in cash to a trader for a sale amount exceeding twenty thousand rupees.

Hari Konanur   15 November 2021 at 00:57

Tds on nri property

Namaste sir

I'm planning to purchase flat worth Rs45 lakhs in Bangalore from NRI seller

He is telling me that he purchased flat for Rs 25 lakhs around 13 years ago.

He quotes that he developed flat by investing on interiors.

So how much can i deduct TDS from 45 lakhs.
This deducted tds amount i need to pay to income tax department

Hari

sasikumar   21 September 2021 at 13:15

Case law for against rule 36 of gst

I am requesting Please share there is any judgement order against the rule 36 of GST.

Anonymous   30 August 2021 at 20:48

Retainership or employment contract

Hello I'm starting my career fresh out of college and have landed my first job and this will be the first financial year I'll be taxed in. I work in the legal profession but have nothing to do nor have a very good understanding with finance and taxation laws as that isn't my area of focus.

On discussing my role with the company and their HR, a situation has arisen about the status quo of my hiring in the company and the higher ups have taken some time to discuss this internally and have told me they'll set a meeting up in a few days where all of us can then finalize on the offer.

Essentially I can be hired, either as a retainer where I don't accrue any employee benefits provided under the labour laws of India and get taxed at the source, making it much more transparent and presumably lesser or be taken on as an employee with all the benefits that come with it along with the taxes that are charged on the various aspects of my income whether they be bonuses or perks and allowances.

The income slab that I fall under is 15% of my total income above the lower threshold and an additional Rs. 37500. No matter how much I try to wiggle around I can't lower my slab with the available deductions so I'm genuinely confused as to what manner of hiring should I go forward with that will net me the most amount with the lowest taxation so I can focus on my savings. I also don't have any additional sources of income at the moment so the income from my job will be the only amount for consideration.

Any help, guidance and suggestions will truly be appreciated and go a long way. Thanks in advance.

4WhatIsRight   26 August 2021 at 08:21

Private limited company buying litigated property below circ

In 2012, a Private limted company bought a property for Rs.1000000 (ten lakh) and paid vide demand draft. Deed of conveyance was executed but couldn't be registered on that day. Seller returned the demand draft with a promise to get the deed registered and collect the demand draft at a later date. Thereafter seller refused to get the deed registered and handover physical possession of the property. Company approached court for specific performance of contract and got injunction on sale transfer of property by seller. Case is in trial stage. Now the seller has approached for compromise and offers to execute a fresh deed and handover possession for Rs.1500000 (fifteen lakh). market value for stamp duty is now (2021) Rs.2250000/-(twenty two lakh fifty thousand). What would be income tax implication for buyer company? How compromise process should be followed in this matter to avoid tax liability?

shyam lal   15 April 2020 at 16:51

House tax

Before Lock down I had purchased free hold residential plot with in nagar nigam limits.but intend to build after one year hence,question is would I have to pay house tax for vacant plot ,second will the area circle rate be also applicable on open/vacant plot?