New LIVE Course: Toxicology and Law. Batch begins 21st July. Register Now!

Suing bmc: demolished our property, no fair compensation.

(Querist) 08 July 2025 This query is : Resolved 
We had a road side shop, that we had been running for almost 35 -40 years, late 2019 this shop was demolished by BMC against courts order, then they were showing alternate properties, that were absolutely terrible, the property we had was giving us a rental of around 35k in 2019, and was valued at around 80 lakhs during that time.

Since we rejected the alternative properties, they offered a compensation of around 22lakhs, which we also rejected and took them to court, then the court again orderrd them to show us good properties within 8 weeks, then covid struck, BMC didn't follow through with the order, things got perpetually delayed. Now again they're asking us to take a residential property in mahul gaon, which is actually a place where BMC is not supposed to give as per the court because it is a terrible place.

I'm looking for a civil lawyer who can help me with this, this is a straight forward case, please can someone help me, guide me to take things forward.
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 08 July 2025
You can look for a lawyer either from this website or outside suiting your requirements.
kavksatyanarayana (Expert) 08 July 2025
Yes. There is a lawyer search available on this page of the forum, from which you can select or engage a local lawyer for your needs.
Sudhir Kumar, Advocate (Expert) 11 July 2025
A considered view can be only formed on seeing the papers. You need to meet lawyer.
Tejas Shetty (Querist) 12 July 2025
Happy to get on a call with ya'll sir Sudhir Kumar, kavksatyanarayana, T. Kalaiselvan, happy to even pay some consultation fee, i need help in picking the right lawyer too, we had hired some lawyers previously and that didn't work out well.