Learn Trademark Filing Like a Pro. Register Now!

Rema   11 July 2010 at 16:44

Works contract

The rate of tax on works contract when goods are in the form of goods or not in the form form of goods is a complicated subject. A number of works contract cases in VAT period is pending before the Hon. High Courts of various states and even in Supreme court. Owing to the uncertainity in the rate of tax on works contract, the assessments are pending in so many cases. Under the circumstances, please answer the latest position of works contract and if any case citation of the HOn. High Court and Supreme Court are available please note the same.
Rema

R T Pandey   11 July 2010 at 16:31

TDS on income tax

we are govt. contractors working for railways,PWDs and banks etc.On payment of bills Tax is deducted at the rate of 2.242percent and form 16 is issued by the concerned department.We have claimed refunds for 2008-2009 and 2009-20010.Income tax department is not paying the refunds on the ground that the TDS is not getting verified on line.On contacting the departments deducting tax on source say that they have deposited the tax correctly and can not help us in any other way than issuing form 16.
Please advice weather we sould file an apeal/case? with whom? the rate of 2.242 is correct?.

Thanks and regards

for Reliable Engineers.

Jatinder Chugh   09 July 2010 at 16:41

TREATMENT UNDER VAT

I am regd dealer in Punjab and want to sent goods on consignment basis in Punjab as well as out of state and would pay commission to consignee. Now my question when i have to pay vat on the same when i transfer the goods to consignee or when actual sales take place at consignee's end and can i sent goods to consignee as stock transfer and book sale when i get sales report from the consignee and pay tax accordingly.How the same can be booked in case of goods sent outside state.Can i treat same as stock transfer or some consignment not to be sent. And whether the regd person outside the state selling the goods would have to pay vat and can such person issue me the C-form for the goods sent on consignment.

PAWAN KUMAR   09 July 2010 at 16:35

disaalowance u/s 40A(30

1. Whether payments made for purchase of depriciable assets exceeding Rs. 20000/- in cash in one day is dissallowed u/s 40(a)(3) and if yes, whether this is applicable for Asst. Year 2010-2011 also.

2. Whether margin money paid Rs. 100000/-for purchase of depriciable asset (i.e. is of Rs. 5.00 lacs)in cash is dissallowed & balance to be financed from bank etc. and the Dep. Claimed on it is dissallowed on which amoun. (i.e. margin money amount propotionate or full amt. of Dep. and for Asstt. year 2010-11 also.

Kindly clarify.

Anonymous   09 July 2010 at 15:18

Regarding TCS

I want to know that what is the liability of the Chartered Accountant in case of tax audit if client not deducted TCS and paid to Government on all of his sales made which is liable for TCS deduction and CA only give note regarding no deduction of TCS in his tax audit report ?

sakshi   09 July 2010 at 15:03

TDS

Dear Sir/ mam

Please help me____urgent

I am working in a pvt. ltd. company in Faridabad (Haryana) involved in manufacturing & trading of printing machine cylinders and also job work.

i am doing book-keeping only. Now my boss ordered me to take the charge of all related to TDS.

Please tell me about its sections & rate
how,when & where it is deposited & also about its return.

sakshi

Anonymous   09 July 2010 at 13:53

CGT

One land was purchased by my father in 1965 at Rs 9000/-. But now the market value of it is 2.5 cr. Also we have made some development like boundary and well etc. We r five heirs and each will get 50lakhs. If we sell it how much tax will be payable. Is there any other option to save the tax, since we do not have any other income and is sole property. Plz. suggest.
thanks and regards.

Anonymous   07 July 2010 at 14:42

Tax on sale of flat

I had purchased a flat in Jan 2007 for Rs 19.50 lacs and intend to sell it soon for which I will get approx Rs 31.00 lacs.How much amount do I have to reinvest in order to save tax. However, if I were to use the entire amount(sale consideration) as per my choice, than how much tax I would have to pay.Please advice.

R_PVK   07 July 2010 at 10:51

regarding property gifting

Dear Sir
My mother had acquired two row houses of her brother asset worth of 1 crore and letter of administration is been issued thru madras high court . she is very old nearing 80 and she wants to distributed the asserts to the children of 5 from her family as well as to 3 of her big brother family for that we had already got permission for sell out from court as the result of this one clarification required is whether if this is sold within a year what is the tax liable, and if the money is distributed to her children and brothers children ,whoever receives it whether they have to pay tax or if suppose the tax is to be paid by the receiver whether it can be gifted to children as a gift to avoid it inspite of court permission to sell it out
please suggest
R_PVK

VIRAF SIGANPORIA   06 July 2010 at 19:32

Capital gain on shares

I inherited few shares from my mother and got it transferred to my name and my husband name in December 2009. I sold this shares in May 2010 for value Rs.100000/-. My CA insists that date of acquisition will be Dec.2009 and cost of acquisition will be ZERO. As such I have to pay shortterm capital gain tax on full proceed. Is he right?

VIRAF SIGANPORIA