Master the Basics of Legal Drafting in All Courts. Register Now!

Rcr filed by husband

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 09 December 2024 This query is : Resolved 

Sir/madam

I was married on June 20, 2021. My husband and in-laws have been very abusive. I always tried to adjust with my husband and his family. Due to our workplaces being in different cities, we decided to stay in a rented apartment. I paid the rent and handled all expenses, as my husband never took any financial responsibility. Every weekend, we visited my in-laws' house, where my husband would leave me and go out with his friends, returning home late.

At my in-laws' place, my mother-in-law was abusive and extremely controlling. Being an introvert, I am naturally quiet and easily intimidated. I was very scared of her. If I ever failed to do something as per her instructions, she would complain to my husband, which led to fights. I never informed my parents about my situation as I didn’t want to hurt them. From the very beginning of my marriage, my husband’s family insisted that I call my mother-in-law daily. She would scold me over the phone and never spoke kindly. Due to my work schedule, there were times when I couldn’t call or missed her calls, and she would complain to my husband. He would then twist my hands and confiscate my phone.

In September 2022, I conceived. The doctor advised me against traveling, so my husband visited his parents alone on weekends. However, the verbal abuse over the phone continued. My husband spent most of his time at the gym or with friends, leaving me with no support during my pregnancy. Toward the later months of my pregnancy, I pleaded with my mother-in-law to let my husband return home on weekends, as I was scared something might happen to me, but she refused, saying I needed to learn to manage alone.

Due to all the stress, I delivered my baby prematurely in May 2023 via a C-section. After the baby’s birth, my husband became even more abusive and showed no concern for me or our child. My mother-in-law came to stay with us for a few weeks and caused more conflicts between my husband and me. Despite my fragile health, she forced me to do household work immediately after my discharge from the hospital. She also fed my baby unsafe concoctions and tap water, which made the baby sick. Even though I begged her to stop, she ignored me, and my husband supported her. He would snatch the baby from my arms and take the baby to her.

Managing all the responsibilities alone with a newborn in a remote rental location with no access to basic facilities became unbearable. When the baby was five months old, I moved to my father’s apartment with my husband’s agreement. I also agreed to pay rent to my father. However, my husband continued to neglect us. He visited his parental home on weekends, returned on Mondays, and frequently fought and shouted for no reason. I begged him not to fight in front of the baby, but he never listened. Eventually, he abandoned us.

When my parents learned about the abuse, they invited my husband and his family for a discussion to resolve the issues. My mother-in-law refused to attend, but my father-in-law and husband came. Instead of reaching a compromise, they blamed me for everything. After that, my husband never returned to see the baby, except for two brief visits. Meanwhile, he spread false stories about me and my family to relatives and family friends, even going to a restaurant owned by a family friend to complain about us.

Despite abandoning us, he falsely claims he wants me and the baby back. He came home twice demanding that I initiate a divorce by messaging him on WhatsApp, which I refused. He then threatened to torture me. Now, he has filed a case for restitution of conjugal rights and has been sending notices to my office address.

I am terrified of going to court and speaking in front of many people. My husband is very articulate, whereas I suffer from panic attacks when scared and find it difficult to speak. He knows this and is intentionally torturing me.

What should I do to protect myself and my baby? Can he take my baby away from me? How can I ensure our safety from my husband and his familly?My husband and his family is very influential (brother is lawyer,uncle is a commissioner etc he tries to scare us using influence)
Please guide

T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 09 December 2024
You have repeated the same query just a while ago in this section, for knowing my answer you may visit your original thread.
P. Venu (Expert) 11 December 2024
You can engage a competent advocate and through him/her, place all the facts before the Court. Your apprehensions that the Court would be influenced by the relatives of the husband are just an apprehension, nothing more.

If need be, you may seek legal aid from the Legal Services Authority.
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 13 December 2024
Thank you so much for the reply sir
Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 13 December 2024
In case my husband wins restitution will I be forced to take my baby and stay with my mother in law.I would like to avoid her to save myself and my baby(I have never and would never stop my husband from being with his parents).
And if I opt for divorce,will my husband and family still be able to torture me and my baby.Even if I tell that I do not want any maintainence.I just want to live a peaceful life and give a safe life for my baby without my in-laws torture.My husband only listens to his mother.He knows that his elder brother's wife has also suffered a lots under mother in law's torture.(Husband's elder brother and his wife are staying seperately,don't visit my in-laws)Yet he does whatever his mother tells(like hitting me and baby,torturing me etc)