inheritance

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 30 October 2010
my query is as follows
my grand father purchased a property, which after his death was transferred to my grand mother by will,
now my grand mother is giving the entire property to 2 sons out of total 4 sons and 3 daughters,
can i as a grand son claim a right in that property, since my grand mother didnt earn that property .
thank you sir

Querist :
Anonymous
also what else can i do to get my share in that property ... since the property is of high value ...
R.Ramachandran
(Expert) 30 October 2010
You have no right to ask any share in the property.
This is because, being his self earned property your grand father has every right to dispose of the same in whatever manner that he liked. Accordingly, he has given that property through WILL to his wife (i.e. your grand mother). Once the property is given to your grand mother through WILL, it is her absolute property and she has every right to do whatever she wants with it. Therefore, when she wants to give the said property (whether fully or partly) to only some of her sons (and not giving it to any other son / daughters) she is well within her rights. NO ONE CAN OBJECT TO IT LEGALLY.

Querist :
Anonymous
thank you very much R.Ramachandran ji
but sir would the case have been different if my great grand father had aquired that property ,,, in that case could i make any claims in that property ?

Querist :
Anonymous
thank you very much s.subramanian ji

Querist :
Anonymous
thank you Devajyoti Barman ji
Arihant
(Expert) 30 October 2010
Grandson can cliam his share as inheritance.
R.Ramachandran
(Expert) 30 October 2010
Even if your great grand father had acquired the property (instead of your grand father acquiring the property) still it would not have made any difference, since your grand father had disposed of the property through a WILL. (I hope your grand father had died after 1956).
R.Ramachandran
(Expert) 30 October 2010
Dear Mr. Arihant, can you please indicate the legal basis for saying so. [This is purely for my personal knowledge updation and for correction.]