Deed for Transfer of Property

(Querist) 19 September 2008 This query is : Resolved 
Sirs,
Good Morning.
Chattisarh Govt. Education Department gave us a letter if we can build a small school building for children. They have given us letter of authority by which they have specified the site where it is to be built. We have built a small building at a cost of Rs. 8.50 lakhs and wish to hand over the same to State Govt. We have done it under the Corporate Social Responsibility (CRS).

Kindly advice how to transfer this property. Which type of deed (Gift) is to be executed and is it to be registered, whether stamp duty is required if so how much .

V.V.Satyanarayana
ARVIND JAIN (Expert) 19 September 2008
who is the owner of the land? I think still the State. you have only built up the building.Cost of Rs. 8.50 lakh may be treated as donation. No need of any Registration.
V V SATYANARAYANA (Querist) 19 September 2008
Thank you.

Please clarify by which type of deed this building needs to be transferred. Should it be on the non judicial paper, if so of how much value.

You are right the owner of the land is state government.
arunprakaash.m. (Expert) 19 September 2008
You can covey the building to the govt by a way of gift deed after paying required stamp duty. It may be in non judical paper or on ledger paper.