Anonymous
06 February 2026 at 15:42
Twenty years ago, I heard a check case was filed against me. My brother had me sign a Vakalat (power of attorney for a lawyer) on the date of the case and appointed a lawyer. Since I later went abroad, a warrant was issued, and the case eventually became an LP (Long Pending) case. I only found out later that the complainant filed the case using an incorrect address. Can this case be cancelled for that reason? Will a Quash Petition still be valid since a lawyer appeared for me once? Is there any way to find out now if the lawyer actually appeared back then? The brother who handled all of this is no longer alive.
Anonymous
29 January 2026 at 12:22
I purchased a gold necklace and bangles worth ₹7 lakh in 2018 , a few days before my marriage, and the bills are in my name. My wife wore them at the wedding. After two years, she called me to my bank to allow her to operate joint locker and threatened that if I did not come, she would call the police. When I went there, she took all the gold that I had purchased before marriage, along with the engagement ring that she had gifted to me. I made a video of the entire incident in which she clearly stated twice that she would return all my items once I returned a specific ring to her. I demanded my gold back the same day, but she refused. Can I legally recover all the gold, or will it be treated as her stridhan?
kunhi marakkar
29 January 2026 at 10:20
Can a check bounce case be quashed in which a summons was sent to another address without serving it at the defendant's correct address and a warrant was issued? If so, which court should be approached?
Anonymous
30 December 2025 at 22:10
Dear Legal Experts,
I seek guidance on the following procedural matter:
Case Background:
• Offences: Section 420 IPC (Cheating) and Section 406 IPC (Criminal Breach of Trust)
• Stage: FIR Done, Evidence gathered by Police, Chargesheet filed and CC (Criminal Case) number has been generated in the court
• Issue: First appearance date given after approximately 7 Months from CC number generation
Scenario:
• Wife sourced Bank Statement unofficially, Later modified it and submitted along with Petition of DV Case (Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005) with an interim Maintenance Ordered (But yet to be Paid) in a different Family court
My Queries:
1. Can Section 309 CrPC or 257 be invoked at this stage to request expedited hearing or to address the delay in first appearance of 7 Months from Now ?
2. Is Section 257 CrPC (Compound offences) applicable after CC number generation? Can compounding still be pursued at this stage for these offences?
3. What remedies are available to address the 7-month delay before the first appearance date? Does this delay violate the principle of speedy trial?
4. Procedural clarification needed: Once a CC number is assigned, what is the typical timeline and procedure? At what stage do Section 309 and Section 257 typically come into play?
5. I m suspecting that since Police already sent the Notice of Appearance (at the Bank Branch) to the Accused i.e. Bank Employee, there are fair chances that Bank employee will change the job to another Bank and since there is no Home address available, where the Summons will get issued on or after 7 Months ?
Kindly suggest,
Sathya
I am facing a case under Section 306 IPC, arising purely family dispute.
All persons involved are blood-related members of the same family — Mother, Fathe, Brother, and Sister.
Committed Sucide - Father
Accused - Mother and Brother
Complainant - Sister
History:
1. FIR 2021
2. Chargesheet 2022
3. No witness Examine till now.
Current position:
Mutual settlement has already been reached between the Family.
The complainant (my sister) is fully ready to close the case and cooperate in quashing of the FIR/charge-sheet.
The trial in the lower court is moving very slowly and inefficiently, with no effective progress.
Query:
👉 Considering these facts, is filing a quashing petition before the High Court under Section 482 CrPC best legal option to finally close this case?
Or what is the Best Option?
raju
11 December 2025 at 16:51
I have two queries nom1 is that Case for recovery of payment under section 33 C (2) of industrial disputes act 1947 filed. Can case for recovery of payment be also filed before labour commissioner under the payment wages act 1936.
No.2 after my Case filed employer filed complaint with police for thief. Please advise what to do.
Anonymous
04 December 2025 at 11:52
My landlord filed a case against me as a Land Grabber to evict me so I hired a High court lawyer with lots of documents including a legal notice from my landlord plus Land Grabbing committee’s report that clearly states that I am a Tenant & not vacating so High of Gujarat has given a stay order & case was adjourned from March 2025 to October 2025 in district court on each court date.
In October we had a high court date & a New High Court judge & he ruled “ Interim relief granted earlier to continue till further orders “ & on next date a new district court judge asked me the status of high court & I asked my High court lawyer & he said we have a new judge & tell district court new judge “ Notice returnable & adjourned. “ He did not tell me in October when we had High court date that new High court judge had ruled “ Interim relief granted earlier to continue till further orders “ So in November my case in district court was moved to 4th addl judge & he has given an order to open up case in January 2026.
So I did a lot of research & found that my High court lawyer should immediately file an application in High Court but he has refused to do so & told me when in January I get a date in district court to ask my local lawyer to file an application with both Stay orders. I already have a date in January which says to open up the case. By the way my High court lawyer has taken an entire case Fee lot earlier.
Kindly advise me as to what should I do ? Time is running out.
Thank You.
Anonymous
02 December 2025 at 13:12
summary :- Gave money to a person (9 lakhs) who defaulted. I did not gave money through bank account transfer. its a cash transaction of 9 lakhs. at the time of giving money collected a cheque with no date for 9 lakhs and a promissory note. presented cheque in bank. cheque got bounced. NI act case filed in recent past only.
Doubt:- Now is it mandatory to file Promissory note case too ? It seems it costs more money to file Promissory note case as some stamp duty has to be paid.
Please suggest
1) if its mandatory to file Promissory note case (as we dont have any other proof of me giving money to him) ?
2) or is there any way we can manage with NI act case itself.
Kindly educate.
All respected and learned advocates,
I am already thankful to all of you for the valuable advises on earlier matters. Now again I am seeking a help on below matter in form an advice.The statement of facts are as below:
1. I am Ankur from Karnataka-Bangalore with account at Bangalore, on request from Mr SK Saxena, NK Tailors, Moradabad with Account at Moaradabad, requested money on 29 December 2023 to 04 March 2024 with commitment to return back within 60 days i.e. 29 Feburary 2024.
2. Transactions of money transfer into his account.
Date -- Mode -- Amount (₹)
29 December 2023 -- UPI Payment -- 1,00,120
30 December 2023 -- UPI Payment -- 10,000
15 Janurary 2024 -- UPI Payment -- 40,000
20 Feburary2024 -- UPI Payment -- 60,000
04 March 2024 -- UPI Payment -- 10,000
Total Transferred: ₹2,20,120
3. Despite the agreed repayment date having passed, the accused failed to return the money. Even after granting an additional grace period of 30 days, only small repayments totaling ₹21,000 were made over a span of 20 months.
4. Transaction of money into my account
Date -- Mode -- Amount (₹)
05 March 2024 -- UPI -- 7,000
18 March 2025 -- UPI -- 5,000
23 April 2025 -- UPI -- 5,000
28 April 2025 -- UPI -- 4,000
Total Repaid: ₹21,000
5. Then he said in between to issue the cheques of remaining INR 200000, after multiple reminders he didn't. Then i tried via a friend at UP-Moradabad, then he issued 10 cheques of each of INR 20000 on his wife name Indu Saxena, on 20 of each month from september-2025 to june-2026.
6. Then initially all 3 initial cheques has been bounced with reason "Funds Insufficent". After multiple reminders he paid INR 20000 against first cheque of 30 September 2025, but afterwards in rest of both cheques , he is just doing procrastination, i.e. multiple fake commitments which didn't get fulfilled. i.e. giving a date and on the said date either silent or come with new date with some reason is continuous pattern since approximately 20 months i.e. since March - 2024.
7. Now I sent NI-138 Notice to ( his wife ) Indu Saxena on 21--11--2025 on there business address mentioned at Govt GST Portal, but as of now latest status of speed post is "Item Invoiced" and "Kept in Deposit". It seems he had bribed or some other settlement in between him and postman to refuse the notice.
Now I want to know best remedy. The continuous pattern of fake commitments shows he don't want to pay but never deny too, only endless fake commitments verbal, written in whatsapp chat and now in cheques too.
My prediction is till he don't feel the threat of arrest, he will only continue the same pattern. My question is how to recover the money. I do have all written whats-app chats as records.
Kindly suggest best advice on :
1. Recover the hard-earned money.
2. What would mean by speed post status of "Item Invoiced" and "Kept in Deposit"?
3. Can I use the same status somehow in further legal action against him ?
Regards.
Ankur
Incorrect address
Twenty years ago, I heard a check case was filed against me. My brother had me sign a Vakalat (power of attorney for a lawyer) on the date of the case and appointed a lawyer. Since I later went abroad, a warrant was issued, and the case eventually became an LP (Long Pending) case. I only found out later that the complainant filed the case using an incorrect address. Can this case be cancelled for that reason? Will a Quash Petition still be valid since a lawyer appeared for me once? Is there any way to find out now if the lawyer actually appeared back then? The brother who handled all of this is no longer alive.