anckoora   27 February 2010 at 16:52

AFFIDAVIT

dear sir,
we are dealers' in gold/silver/diamond ornaments. our employee take ornaments on approval basis to a dealer-and bring back the same from time to time. We do proper documentation for this transaction.
To avoid in-transit hassel , say by police, octroi, s.tax etc dept, we have given them our authority letter on 100 rupee stamp paper (duly notarised)and also affidavit pertaining to his job of carrying the valuable ornaments.
pl let us know(1) the validity of this affidavit and letter of authority(2) we understand that it is for six months only-as validy of the stamp paper itself is six months. We are confused.
seeking your advise.
thanks
anckoora

Anonymous   27 February 2010 at 14:52

section 138

Is the settlement possible after the appellant is convicted in a lower court?

AMAR RANU   27 February 2010 at 13:41

Whether Section 2(9) of the C.P.C is applicable to Cr.P.C ?

Section 2(9) of the CPC defines a judgment" to mean the statement given by the Judge of the grounds for a decree or order.
(1999 (8) SCC 396), it was inter-alia held as follows:

"There is yet another infirmity in the case which relates to the "judgment" passed by the single Judge and upheld by the Division Bench.

"Judgment" as defined in Section 2(9) of the Code of Civil Procedure means the statement given by the Judge of the grounds for a decree or order. What a judgment should contain is indicated in Order 20 Rule 4(2) which says that a judgment "shall contain a concise statement of the case, the points for determination, the decision thereon, and the reasons for such decision". It should be a self-contained document from which it should appear as to what were the facts of the case and what was the controversy which was tried to be settled by the Court and in what manner. The process of reasoning by which the Court came to the ultimate conclusion and decreed the suit should be reflected clearly in the judgment."
In the light of the above,I would like to know the opinion of the esteemed experts here as to whether such a similar provision is available in Cr.P.C.also,which may be applicable to orders passed in criminal cases.
If yes,please let us have similar provision in Cr.P.C.Kindly pinpoint where it is available.
If not,kindly throw some light on some case law in support of above said contention.
Amar

M Ravinder Babu Advocate Parka   26 February 2010 at 23:48

MAINTAINANCE

Bar u/s 125(3) 2005(2)ald(crl)370(sc) held not applicable-original appication filed with in stipulated period one year subsequent applicationfor arears for subsequent period-do not amountbar of limitation u/s 125(3) crpc.
Act u/s 125 (3) is specific. payment and liabulity are different issues,
WHEN ACT IS SPECIFIC AND NOT AMENDED /ALTERED CAN ACT PREVAILS OR JUDGEMENT PREVAILS.
PLEASE FURNISH ANY CITATIONS THAT ACT PREVAILS

Anonymous   26 February 2010 at 23:44

Criminal law

I have a problem in a case that Some person committed a fraud relating to a big plot of Land. Accused created a false fabricating manufacturing document by a person in the plase of original land owner . Original land owner at present residing in U.K. When he come in india a hear a rumar that his land was sold by the caretaker of his property by false fabricated power of attorney of original land owner , then land owner filed a police report at police station then police started investigation U/S, 468, 469, 471, 420 , 34 (B) I.P.C.and arrest some accused and put then in the court. Court orderd for detention of the accused person . after some time accuseds file bail petition and take bail from D.J. (Patna) . After bail he submitted an application U/S. 239 cr.p.c. on the ground that this case nature is civil because a civil suit filed by the land owner. So Please help me and give some caselaw for disallow the petition of discharged .

manish   26 February 2010 at 23:19

whether girlfriend can be proscequted 304 B ipc

Hello everyone,
whether the girlfriend of husband can be oprosecuted for offence of dowry death.
Recently the hon,ble supreme court has held that girlfriend does not come under the purview the word'relative'.
Similarly word relative is also used in section 304b of penal code.
So, whether she can be prosecuted, if anyone knows any caselaw please reply

bhavin   26 February 2010 at 22:29

n i 138

dear sir
after metropolitan court judgment which court liable to appeal

chiranjib mukherjee   26 February 2010 at 20:19

498(A) I.P.C.

in a case, the complainant is the step mother of the accused person and she lodged a complaint in the police station alleging that she was beaten by the accused person brutally but there is no dowry demand and the charge sheet was submitted u/sec. 498(A) I.P.C. can the accused person be charged with u/sec. 498(A)/323 I.P.C.

chiranjib mukherjee   26 February 2010 at 20:13

138 N.I.Act

in a case the accused applied to the bank for stop payment before depositing the cheque, the bank did not do so. Will the bqank be responsible u/sec. 138 N.I.Act ?

Sukhija   26 February 2010 at 19:19

138 non banking company giving loan

Can a non banking company legally give loan to any person without having any license for the same.
loan with interest is given by the company to my client. company officer says that it is not applicable for his company to have license from any body. is it right?