tapas biswas
21 February 2013 at 12:35
I had booked one new flat on July 2009 for a total consideration Rs. 21 lacs including garage. Around Rs.16 lacs were paid by march 2010.
Now the developer is asking to pay service tax on the total amount of Rs. 21 lacs.
My question: 1. Is service tax applicable on the entire amount?
2. The date of applicability of service tax on purchase of new flat?
3. How can I ascertain that the said tax been deposited by the developer, what proof i can claim.
Rgds,
Tapas Biswas
Divya
20 February 2013 at 21:07
Respected Experts
This refers to works contract undertaken by father in Maharashtra (contractor is a registered sales tax dealer)
Contractor undertakes civil construction projects of making buildings for BSNL & CPWD and in all cases, the flats after construction are not sold, they are made for the internal use of BSNL & CPWD employees.
Agents cum Principal Contractor BSNL & CPWD, deduct TDS @ 2% from the bills on the taxable turnover and issue certificates.. All these assessments of work done relate to period 1993 to 2000.
after 2002, sales tax authorities impose assessment orders and finally now they say to pay tax liability running into several crores. They use their own mechanics to calculate & charge tax @ 10-15% with penalty on turnover.
for us it is the works contract, why are tax authorities giving it the shape of MVAT 2002....BSNL & CPWD works contract come under "Works contract tax"
Can sales tax authorities re-burden us with taxes, why should the burden not be put on BSNL/CPWD...They are the principal contractors, hence they should be made answerable too.
My basic query is "government contractors" have already got 2% tax deducted at source from BSNL & CPWD, so why are again burdened.
Please assist with your valuable input.
vinaykala
20 February 2013 at 09:11
dear sir,
i have takeen a housing loan of 20 lacs to part finance purchase of a plot in dlf garden city , lucknow wherre the stated purpose in the agreement is that it will be township where the purchaser shall have to buildd a house within two years of possession.the possesion is due in jan 2014.\
in short while today the loan is for a plot it is for ultimate construction.
my query is
1. Do i get tax rebate for replayment?.
2. do i get tax breaks for interest paid on loan?.
3. If so kindly give details. the house proposed to be made in 4 years from now shall be used for my residence.
i own another house in the same city jointly with wife, with wife as the first owner.
kindly advise sir
vinay kala feb 20,19
Kapil Tiwari
20 February 2013 at 01:52
A business person states that he is investing 1 lakh each in 3 PPF accounts. The accounts are in his name, his spouse's name and in the name of 1 major son. Hence, he invests 3 lakhs total per annum! He invest from his account and is not claiming any Income Tax benefit (except from the one lakh that he invests in his own name). Hence, for the balance 2 lakhs that he invests in the name of his spouse and major son, he does not claim any income tax benefit. He is doing it to get a tax free retirement income for himself and to give a decent amount to his grand children. Is it permitted officially? I am aware that 1 lakh is the maximum investment per year allowed in one's own account plus his minor child's account. But I was not aware that one could invest additional one lakh each in a major son's account and spouse's account. So, if this person had a spouse and 3 major children, he could invest upto 4 lakhs per year and he could amass a huge tax-free retirement corpus!!
Divya
19 February 2013 at 21:16
Dear Experts
Our sales Tax appeal has been DISMISSED due to repeated non-appearance of our advocate and assessee (though a colorable exercise of powers to extort big money)
I need assistance:
1) Can we restore the appeal by filing a form before the authorities or does the matter need to be fought with the tribunal?
2) Appeal restoration has to be done using which 'FORM'
3) Appeal restoration has to be done though a CA or through an advocate...
Please guide with your valuable inputs
Thankyou
pawan
19 February 2013 at 15:34
I am in Indian merchant navy & I spent more than six months outside from India . Please tell Is my income is taxable in this condition? If yes than in which slab.I am an Indian resident
Sathish
18 February 2013 at 22:47
If customs rejects or raises a query for FTA benefit availment (after 30 shipment), if we unable to convience the custom
with valid proof or document within 60 days (as per rules), what will be penalty and insterest.
whether we need to pay the difference of duty for last 30 shipment
what is the penalty and interest we need to pay
what legal consequence we need to face
even the issue is with supplier (exporter), whether we need to bare the above interests and penalty.
Sathish K
Daljit Singh Mann
18 February 2013 at 19:10
'A' and his wife 'B' both are State Government employee and took a joint home loan from bank and purchase a flat on the name of 'B' in the year 2009. 'B' pay the installment of home loan through an auto debit joint (A' and 'B') saving bank account. Now 'A' is residing separately (not legally separated) on rent in another flat since March 2012. Is 'A' entitled to get rebate on the amount paid as rent ?
krishna reddy
18 February 2013 at 15:01
Good Evening sir,
We Got the Central Excise Notice for Deputy commissioner Micro nutrient Single Micro nutrient Multi Micro nutrient We are file the other fertilizers 2010-11 nil we pay the 1% 2012-13 other fertilizers also 12 % how to slow the problem
Purchase tax liability u/s 12 of ovat act 2004 if bye product exmpted ,
THE DEALER PROCCESSING DAL FROPM PULSES 100KG PULSES USED FOR PROCCESING DAL &GET 76KG DAL .DAL TAXABLE @5%IN THE STATE OF ODISHA DEALER PAY TAX ON DAL BUT DEPT CHARGES TAX ON 24 KG VALUE OF PULSES PUSCHASE ON THE GROUND CHILKA EXMPTED FROM TAX.THE DEALER PAY MORE TAX THAN THE PURCHASE VALUE OF PLSES BECAUSE 76 KG DAL VALUE IS MORE THAN THE PURCHASE VALUE OF 100KG PURCHASE VALUE OF PULSES .PLEASE CLARIFICATION REGANDING THE PURCHASE TAX .