Padgi system

Querist : Anonymous (Querist) 04 October 2023 This query is : Resolved 
Hi sir/madam
I am been doing my business since last 84 years but then the landlord flied a suit on us sub letting which we have not done and stop taking the rent since 7 years I have flied a petition in the court for paying the rent I have show my intentions of paying then also the landlords lawyer are apposing it please help me out will I be evicted because this is my only beard butter he’s not told any of the other tenants even tho they have sub let the shop kindly guide me I will be highly thank ful
T. Kalaiselvan, Advocate (Expert) 06 October 2023
The Pagdi system is a pre-independence rental law that gives the tenant certain ownership rights over the rented property, including the right to sub-let the property or even sells it while giving a share to the original owner.
There are no leases or agreements between property owners and tenants
The tenants have certain rights over the property but not the land of the property
Tenants can sublet the property by themselves under certain conditions
Hence you can challenge the case properly in court as per law.