Tax returns

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 11 May 2011
One of my colleagues informed me that she can get file tax returns for me thru a CA friend of hers. She mentioned that I wouls get something additional in my account and and that needs to be given to the CA. As a guarantee she asked me to give her a cheque without amount on it. I emptied my ac and gave a cheque with my signatures. I was eligible to get about Rs 20000/- where as I got about Rs 155591/-. The girl's brother took 135591/- out of my acc. now I'm worried about the money that i got in returns. I did not sign on any docs for the return. She took only my PAN #. I want to return the money to the IT dept. I need to know a way to get the money back from this girl. She has done this with several others and has taken Lakhs of rupees from everyone. How do i go about it. I will consult a lawyer but I would love to know based on what did she withdrew Rs135591/- extra out of my PAN ac. Please help. I understand it was stupidity to give a blank cheque, but i emptied my ac before doing that. Can anyone help?
A V Vishal
(Expert) 11 May 2011
It is still unclear how you got a refund of Rs.135,591 against a refund of Rs.20,000/-. There is something fishy about the entire dealing, kindly furnish the true and complete details of the case.

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 11 May 2011
If u need my PAN# I can give the same for further investigation. I seriously dont know how I got this money. I checked my refund status online on a website "IT returns".The status was "Cheque dispatched and encashed". I have been checking this with my colleague for the last 5 months. I would have paid that much of tax, rather much more than that in one tax year ie 2009- 2010. She says that she claimed it for two years. 2008- 2009 and 2009-2010. Our company pays a perofrmance bonus on a monthly basis.I use to get a bonus of Rs 20000/- to Rs 30000/- every month and straight 30% of tax used to get deducted.Also, our company pays a retention bonus, that I got a Rs50000/- in Feb 2009 and Rs 107000/-in Feb 2010.Even on this I paid a tax of 30%. I have no other information apart from what I have supplied.As I mentioned I did not submit any paper work. The only thing that I gave to them was my PAN# and a blank cheque. As I mentioned I'm not the only person she has got the refund but there are others in other companies. For sure there is lot that is fishy about the entire dealing.Will it be wise to check the details with one of the CA/ IT auditor. Might get an answer to your questions??
A V Vishal
(Expert) 11 May 2011
1. Where are you put up currently
2. You and all your colleagues who were similarly cheated can lodge a criminal complaint against the said person.
A V Vishal
(Expert) 11 May 2011
Recently a huge fraud was unearthed in the Income Tax department wherein some officials in the department colluded and siphoned off huge amounts of unclaimed refund amount, probably you may be one of the victims.

Querist :
Anonymous
(Querist) 12 May 2011
Possibly, I could be the victim of the IT fraud. I had read about it somewhere. Regarding my company, I'm afraid I work with a coporate and we cannot publish the name of the company in such forums. But, just to let u know, I'm a manager working with backend operations with one of the leading Banks.
I'm sure my other colleagues will not think about filing a complaint againts her.
I had given the blank cheque which was ac payable. Though they wanted a self cheque which I denied. I want to understand if there is a way that I can first take the Rs135000/- back and then return the same to IT dept without my job/ career being at risk. I'm worried that I might be considered a fraudster. What measures can I take to avoid any charges againts me. Is there a way that I can first safeguard myself ie without involving police into it.
A V Vishal
(Expert) 12 May 2011
Since it was through an account payee cheque issue a legal notice to return the money stating you have given an advance to your friend's brother.