Complaint against a Courier Company

(Querist) 22 May 2009 This query is : Resolved 

Recently I have sent a new mobile phone (with all accessories like blue tooth, battery, ear piece, data cable, charger and software CD) from Delhi to Alwar by Blazeflash Courier Ltd (dated 08-05-09) to address my brother. Company representative told me that the parcel will reach to him by 11.05.09 and they have charged 100/- extra as Insurance Fee, so that if any mishappens I can be protect. But when I contacted to my brother on that date he confirm me that he didn't received any parcel. Even he didn't received any call from the company regarding this. I put this matter to their senior here in delhi, and finally they confirmed me that your brother only came to ourt office in alwar and personally collected the parcel. I was really shocked. On POD what we found that there was fake signature of my brother and company handover the parcel to someone without checking and confirming his ID.

Their customer care centre confirm me that our boy only deliver the courier at your address.

Finally after so much of pain, when I spoke to their director, he told me Yes I admit that mistake made by our end but we are not reponsible for any damage and lose and we won't compansate you under any circutance. When I apprached to their chairman, firstly he confirmed that the courier delivered to my address, but when I produce him all proof and evidence he sent me a mail that "give us your contact no we will make settlement with you". I sent my contact no and got a call from his office, and the lady who called me said we are very sorry, mistake made by our end and we can offer you Rs 1000 as compansation. Its a case of fraud, cheat and foul play which did this company by knowgly, and their Alwar agent is also involved in this case. I am sure they have kept this mobile with theirself only and produce false POD. Finally I lodge a FIR against this company, their director and the chairman dated 18-05-09 but till date no action taken by police.

I just would like to sue them in a very big way now, could you please help me how can I approach to consumer forum and what all rights I reserved? I am suffering so much under mental pressure and totally disturb because of this case?

Regards'
'
Ashok Saini

A V Vishal (Expert) 22 May 2009
Dear Saini,

You can file a suit in the district consumer forum and claim damages for loss of goods and also deficiency of service. Consult a good local lawyer and go ahead.

Kindly refer the SC judgement in a similar case:

CASE NO.: Appeal (civil) 3096 of 2005

PETITIONER: M/s. Transport Corporation of India Ltd

RESPONDENT: M/s. Veljan Hydrair Ltd

DATE OF JUDGMENT: 22/02/2007

adv. rajeev ( rajoo ) (Expert) 22 May 2009
U can file a consumer case against the courier company. U can claim the damages for not rendering better service, for mental harrashment and for fiancial loss. U can also claim the expenses made towards contact the directors.
M. PIRAVI PERUMAL (Expert) 22 May 2009
You can file a consumer complaint before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum against the courier company for the damages, compensation for mental agony etc. You can get cheaper and quicker remedy for your grievance.
RAKHI BUDHIRAJA ADVOCATE (Expert) 23 May 2009
I do agree with my Ld. Friends. Dear Ashok Ji, u can contact to me at : 9871158578/9711364956. M Delhi based lawyer.