Upgrad LLM

husband not agreeing divorce nor what to stay with me

Hi,

My Marrirage was only for short duration, Within a month of marrirage i came to know the true colour of my husband, He had lost his job after engagment which was not communicated to us, I am a HR my professional i send him for interview he does not go, Not Intersted in US job also, Till 6months i have taken care of all his needs, He and his family members have even sold my jewellery, My in laws are useing abusive words if i ask my husband to go to work, His family as lot debt in there home town. One day we had heated argument he used domestic violence aginst me so i left his house and staying in my parents house. Now it is 2yeras we have seprated in the mediation he is not agreeing for Divcore and he is saying he will not allow me to marry again nor be happy in life. He even  does not want to take responsibilty of me . He is still not having job. 

Plz suggest

as he is not with u since 2 years. u can apply for divorce

You file for divorce under section 13 as you have two very good grounds, that of cruelty and the other that he has deserted you for more than 2 years. His consent for divorce is only required when a joint petition for divorce by mutual consent is moved under section 13B. However, when you apply for divorce u/s 13, he would have to contest such divorce proceedings and if the court finds that cruelty took place or there is desertion for more than 2 years the court can dissolve such marriage whether the husband agrees or not.

TS Makkar

Advocate

Lawyer at Supreme Court of India

Mam, 

File the case for divorce on the grounds of cruelty, I fell your case is fit for cruelty. 

Warm Regards 

Kapil Chandna Advocate 

Total likes : 1 times

Don't worry, your husband is not able to bound you within the relationship on any legal ground. File you petition on the grounds of cruely and desertion. Anish Sarna

writer & an editor