LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Karan Karnik (No)     11 August 2012

Violation of law by police

Hello to all the respected legal experts.

I found this website quite useful to get an answer to my query which I have mentioned below.

I am Karan Karnik, a teacher by profession. I went to meet a doctor 5 days back and took care to park my car within the demarcated line of parking. I parked it well inside the line. However, on my return I was shocked to see that my car was being impounded and towed away by the police. When I confronted the policeman and asked him the reason it has been towed away, he told me that I am not supposed to park the car here. I pleaded with him that as a law abiding citizen I have never violated the traffic rules and ensured that I parked the car inside the white line but he refused to listen to me and went away in his recovery van.

The biggest shock was yet to come for me. Three days later when I visited the place next to the office of the SSP where they keep the impouned cars, I found the AC of my car missing and my car was badly damged from the front. The damage was surely done while the car was being dragged to the police station in the recovery van.

I want help from the learned experts in relation to the following questions.

1. Is there any law/rule which allows the police to impound the car even if it is parked inside the demarcated line?

2. If the answer to the above question is NO, what criminal action can I take against the police officer who impounded my car ?

3. What action can I take against the police for stealing the AC of my car?

4. Was it not the duty of the policeman who impounded my car to ensure that no damage was done to my car? What action can be taken in this regard?

I shall be highly grateful for any kind of assistance in this regard

Regards,

Karan Karnik

Learning

2 Replies

Phanindra Kumar (Adovcate)     11 August 2012