Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Kay Abreu (NA)     14 October 2021

Right to privacy

My neighbour has just installed an
audio
device facing my house. Our houses, in an unauthorised colony, are just 7 feet apart. We are not on speaking terms . We are senior citizens aged 70 years and live alone . i have retired from a Central Ministry and my wife a retired school teacher from a reputed school in Delhi. We feel very uncomfortable. Our right to free speech seems to be curbed. He is a cab driver by profession an active AAP worker and an office bearer of the area RWA . Please advice.

Learning

7 Replies

G.L.N. Prasad (Retired employee.)     14 October 2021

Whoever, whatever he is, he is your neighbor.  Establish speaking terms, renew friendship and explain your problems, I am sure that he can understand your problem.  The only thing one can not understand from the query is to "How your right to free speech seems to be curbed".  At your age to maintain good relations is a most essential necessity and in specific with cab driver neighbor..  Take the help of other neighbors that are having students who are equally disturbed with that notice nuisance.

Your working at Central Ministry,  wife school teacher, owning a house at Unauthorized colony, your neighbor AAP worker are not relevant to lodging police complaint before Police.  But no prudent person that can understand your status can prescribe a remedy through the lawful course.

After much thought we chose to ignore it and enjoy the remainder part of our lives after 70. To ignore is the best medicine. Thank you very much for your expert advice.

Ananya Gosain   14 October 2021

Greetings!

I assume with an audio device being placed facing your house you mean this device may be responsible for neighbors being able to listen to your conversations and thus curtailing your Freedom of Speech