Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

AMIT KUMAR (EXECUTIVE)     03 December 2010

Liability of State in Death from Robbery

Dear All,

I'd like to ask the learned members of the community a few question based on the tragic incident which happened to my family as per below:-

My Family including of my parents and sister and his husband (with their two small children) had stopped at a roadside eatery for dinner on 08.08.2008, at Barout, Baghpat in UP, where some miscreants (whom the Police couldn't nab, till date nor any case has been filed against them) killed my father and my brother in law.I am attaching herewith the newspaper clipping about the incident which appeared a after the incident.

Now my questions are:-

1. Are the dependents of the killed can claim compensation from the state for the loss of the lives? As per my knowledge, although I am not a lawyer, the right to live is a constitutional right. Further, to maintain peace and security of the land and protect the lives of the civilians, the state is responsible. So can we file the suit for claiming the compensation from the state.

2. Under which Act this petition'll be filed?

3. Which court will have the jurisdiction as the crime was committed in UP while we reside in Delhi?

4. Is there any time limit up to which these petition could be filed?

5.What will be the requirement to be fulfilled for filing the petition?

Any help in the above matter will be helpful for the two young children (now 6 and 3 years old) who have lost their father at so young age and my sister (only 26 years of age).

Sincerely looking forward for genuine responses from the members. 

Amit Kumar

Learning

3 Replies

Democratic Indian (n/a)     04 December 2010

" Are the dependents of the killed can claim compensation from the state for the loss of the lives? As per my knowledge, although I am not a lawyer, the right to live is a constitutional right."