LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Anjita   29 May 2016

Domestic violence need help

Hi, I am Anjita from Kochi, our marriage happend in 2011 as per christian custom there after registerd in the local government. We had issues soon after marriage due to some missunderstanding and communication issues or ego. He is an IT professional and I was a Nurse. Our girl born in 2012. He used to drink once in while and whenever he is drunk, he used to physically abuse me. I did not tell this to my family members since it was once in a while like once in 6 months or 1 year. At last my brothers came to know about and they asked to file case. I filed a case in Womens Commission in 2015 and the issue resolved there in the 3rd sitting. 1st sitting, I did not attend and second sitting he did not come. I have asked him to take a rental house near my home and he accepted and started living.

For an year he did not drink then one day he drunk because we had some quarrel. He physically abused me much. I called up my brothers and they came with police. He was too drunk and abused my brothers in front of police too. He said many things. 

Along with police and my brothers I went to nearest hospital and done a medical checkup and they have informed the police too. 

Later, the CI office have called as and we have given our statement, they called my husband twice but he did not come. Now, he is not in town. When we enquired the CI office they said, he hasn't come you may file a Domestic Violence case or Divorce case. Do I need to give a case? Do police can forward the case to court? or Can they issue a arrest warrant?

I do not want a divorce, but he need. What should I do now. 

Please reply.

Learning

11 Replies

(Guest)
  1. It is not OK for husband to physically or verbally abuse you. You have right to a physically and emotionally safe environment to live.