Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Vaibhav Jatak (--)     29 April 2010

Can i claim for my relieving letter after 1.5 years ?

Hi,

I am a software professional and i quit my previous job in July 2008 and joined my current company. That time my previous company did not give me relieving letter saying it was their policy that they do not give relieving letter to employees who leave the company before 1 year (nothing such was mentioned on my appointment letter), so i did not serve notice period. I agreed to them as my current company was ready to hire me even without relieving letter.

Now i have a job offer from a BIG MNC but this company wants relieving letter from my previous company. I told this HR that i don\'t have relieving letter but i do have appointment letter and salary slips from previous Company but she did not convince as they do reference checking from a third party company.

So I called my previous Company HR and explained him the scenario and requested a lot for my relieving letter. I am ready to pay for my unserved notice period but he(HR) says that he is not in position to give me relieving letter as it is too late. Is he right? What do I do now? Can i take it to Labour Court ?

I would truly appreciate if somebody advices me as to what I can do to fix this situation.

Thanks and Regard.

Learning

5 Replies

Kiran Teggi (Senior Executive - HR)     29 April 2010

Why dont you try to have a talk with Unit Head about relieving letter. And even get a meaning for too late from HR person.

Kiran A T

Vaibhav Jatak (--)     29 April 2010

Thanks Kiran for your reply.

I had spoken to HR Head of my previous company and he only said that no letter can be issued to me even if i pay unserved notice period because it has been 1 year and 9 months (too late) i quit the company.

Please tell me is there any time limit to claim a relieving letter ?

am i eligible to claim relieving letter?