Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

Sudhir   15 October 2019

A heir is claiming the title and cancellation of property sa

Hello, I am from Gujarat.

I am a graduate, and while preparing for public services, I have gone through constitution almost 10 times, so i have basic ability to understand laws.
I purchased a property in urban area, in 2016, at that time there were no legal suits against the property, we published the advert in newspapers, and no claims received.

In 2018, a family has come up with a suit against the previous property owner, claiming the title of the property. 

Here is the details of the claim from those who instituted the claim.

The plantiff is claiming the title under specific reliefs act - Clause 31.

Lets say, I am person D, my previos owner is C his previous owner is B
Lets say plantiff is person X.

I purchased the property in 2016 from D, he purchased from C in 2006, C purchased from B. B was not the owner of the property but he had power of attorney from original owner.

Now, B who had power of attorney sold the property to C in 1988. 
The original owner, who had given power of attorney sold the property to father of X in 1994.

Now X claims that he has the right over title.

Father of X, had taken a loan from the bank, but he had not paid the amount, and he did not pay full stamp duty either. The father of X died few years before. X paid the remaining amount of loan and stamp duty in 2015 and got the sale deed.

The arguments put forward by X before court are as below.

- X claims, that his father was not in good health, so he never talked about the property before, and he came to know in 2015 only.
- He argues that, at the time, when B transferred the property to C, if power of attorney was valid or not is questionable, otherwise why the original owner would sale the property to father of X.
- X claims that Limits act does not apply on this ground.