Upgrad
LCI Learning

Share on Facebook

Share on Twitter

Share on LinkedIn

Share on Email

Share More

syed allham (csr)     08 January 2017

Unpaid salaries - handover company laptop when resigned.

I am a resident of Bengaluru and currently working in a private limited e-commerce start-up since 6 months. Our employer is currently running out of funds and investments and it's been more than 2 months none of the employees have received their salaries. Now I've fortunately got a job in another company and I wish to resign from the current company; How should I go about the resignation when my salary is unpaid and there is no sight of settlement happening sooner, Should I hand over the company laptop when leaving or should not,  as the asset value doesn't even cover my 1 month salary? And what terms or conditions should I state in my resignation letter, What if the employer objects from giving the relieving letter because of not handing over the laptop, How should handle it?. I would really appreciate if the honourable members help me in my distress with their valuable suggestions. Thank you

Learning

9 Replies

Ritesh Maity (Labour Law Advocate)     08 January 2017

Since you have got a job it is better for you to move on.

Coming back to your current employer, there are two issues - oustanding salar - resignation and submission of any asset. 

I hope you do not require any documents (reliveing/ experience etc.) from your current company in order to join new company.